Bergman Storms To ASCS Sooner Region Victory At Creek County Speedway!

Bryan Hulbert – SAPULPA, Okla. (May 29, 2020) Announcing that races had been moved from Red Dirt Raceway in Meeker, Okla. to Creek County Speedway in Sapulpa, Okla. just after 9:00 A.M. Friday morning, the field and the fans turned out in a big way; and they were not disappointed as Seth Bergman rocketed to victory off the final turn with the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products.

Besting a field of 40 drivers from eight states and two countries for his eight career ASCS Sooner Region victory, Bergman hit the gas from third to start the night’s A-Feature with Mike Goodman and Sean McClelland running first and second.

With traffic coming into play near the race’s mid-point, business picked up as Goodman’s lead was challenged on Lap 10 by McClelland. Getting the point the following lap, Bergman advanced to second on Lap 16.

Chasing the DSO No. 1 into a group of slower cars, the door opened for the Evergreen Coffee Co. No. 23 on Lap 19. Followed quickly by seventh starting Blake Hahn, who commanded the bottom of the Speedway, the No. 52 worked by Seth with five laps to run.

Slipping back several car lengths, traffic again brought the top two together.

Game on with one to go, Bergman railed the cushion off the second turn. Looking like his night was about to end in disaster, Seth went two wheels up the wall down the back straightaway. Never letting off the throttle, the car slammed to the ground just in time for the set into the third turn.

Burying the right rear into the fluff, Bergman shot off the final turn to best the No. 52 of Hahn by 0.276 seconds. Alex Sewell advanced three positions to claim the final podium step after a multi lap battle with Andrew Deal, who crossed fourth. Avery Goodman completed the top five.

Moving up 10 positions, Harli White grabbed sixth with Chase Randall following from 19th to seventh. After leading early on, Mike Goodman finished eighth with Robbie Price emerging from a B-Feature to finish ninth. Jeremy Campbell crossed tenth.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products returns to competition along with the ASCS Mid-South Region at Tri-State Speedway in Pocola, Okla. on Saturday, May 30. The action goes green at 7:00 P.M. (CT).

The evening includes USRA Modifieds, B-Mods, and Factory Stocks. Tri-State Speedway is located at 1705 W. Race Track Rd. in Pocola, Okla. Admission is $15 for adults with kids 10 and under free into the Grandstands. More information on the track can be found at or by calling (918) 575-1369.

For fans not able to make it, both nights will be shown live on

Event updates will be posted to as well as our Social Media Outlets on Facebook and Twitter (@LucasOilASCS). We will also issue emails to our E-News Letter, which anyone can sign up for at

Race Results

ASCS Sooner Region
Creek County Speedway (Sapulpa, Okla.)
Friday, May 29, 2020

Car Count: 40

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 17W-Harli White[2]; 2. 23-Seth Bergman[3]; 3. 9$-Kyle Clark[4]; 4. 7F-Noah Harris[1]; 5. 30-Joseph Miller[6]; 6. 31-Casey Wills[5]; 7. 94-Charles McManus[7]; 8. 911-Waylon Weaver[8]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 10C-Jeremy Campbell[2]; 2. 23G-Steven Shebester[4]; 3. 1-Sean McClelland[8]; 4. 6N-Cameron Hagin[6]; 5. 90-Lance Norick[5]; 6. 22C-Charlie Crumpton[1]; 7. 55B-Brandon Anderson[7]; 8. 22S-Slater Helt[3]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 94L-Layne Himebaugh[1]; 2. 15D-Andrew Deal[2]; 3. 15-Jase Randolph[5]; 4. 11-Avery Goodman[6]; 5. 5$-Danny Smith[7]; 6. 57C-Chris Schmelzle[3]; 7. 85-Forrest Sutherland[8]; 8. 92J-JR Topper[4]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 11G-Mike Goodman[2]; 2. 18-Dillon Laden[5]; 3. 8-Alex Sewell[6]; 4. 21P-Robbie Price[1]; 5. 03-Joe Wood Jr[8]; 6. 2-Mickey Walker[7]; 7. 21B-Brandon Hinkle[4]; 8. 97-Kevin Cummings[3]

Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 52-Blake Hahn[2]; 2. 21K-Kevin Hinkle[1]; 3. 26M-Fred Mattox[3]; 4. 24-Garet Williamson[4]; 5. 9-Chase Randall[7]; 6. 20G-Jake Greider[6]; 7. 23P-Hunter Poe[5]; 8. 1S-Joey Schmidt[8]

Qualifier 1 (8 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman[3]; 2. 11-Avery Goodman[1]; 3. 1-Sean McClelland[6]; 4. 21K-Kevin Hinkle[2]; 5. 23G-Steven Shebester[4]; 6. 9-Chase Randall[7]; 7. 17W-Harli White[5]; 8. 31-Casey Wills[10]; 9. 90-Lance Norick[9]; 10. 30-Joseph Miller[8]

Qualifier 2 (8 Laps): 1. 9$-Kyle Clark[2]; 2. 03-Joe Wood Jr[1]; 3. 8-Alex Sewell[4]; 4. 15-Jase Randolph[3]; 5. 21P-Robbie Price[8]; 6. 10C-Jeremy Campbell[5]; 7. 18-Dillon Laden[6]; 8. 5$-Danny Smith[7]; 9. 85-Forrest Sutherland[10]; 10. 2-Mickey Walker[9]

Qualifier 3 (8 Laps): 1. 15D-Andrew Deal[3]; 2. 11G-Mike Goodman[5]; 3. 26M-Fred Mattox[1]; 4. 6N-Cameron Hagin[2]; 5. 52-Blake Hahn[6]; 6. 24-Garet Williamson[7]; 7. 7F-Noah Harris[8]; 8. 94L-Layne Himebaugh[4]; 9. 20G-Jake Greider[9]; 10. 57C-Chris Schmelzle[10]

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 21P-Robbie Price[2]; 2. 94L-Layne Himebaugh[4]; 3. 9-Chase Randall[3]; 4. 6N-Cameron Hagin[1]; 5. 90-Lance Norick[6]; 6. 5$-Danny Smith[5]; 7. 2-Mickey Walker[8]; 8. 21B-Brandon Hinkle[11]; 9. 94-Charles McManus[9]; 10. 22S-Slater Helt[13]; 11. 22C-Charlie Crumpton[10]; 12. 1S-Joey Schmidt[12]; 13. 30-Joseph Miller[7]

B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 17W-Harli White[2]; 2. 24-Garet Williamson[3]; 3. 7F-Noah Harris[4]; 4. 20G-Jake Greider[7]; 5. 18-Dillon Laden[1]; 6. 55B-Brandon Anderson[9]; 7. 57C-Chris Schmelzle[8]; 8. 85-Forrest Sutherland[6]; 9. 31-Casey Wills[5]; 10. 23P-Hunter Poe[10]; 11. 911-Waylon Weaver[11]; 12. 92J-JR Topper[12]; 13. 97-Kevin Cummings[13]

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman[3]; 2. 52-Blake Hahn[7]; 3. 8-Alex Sewell[6]; 4. 15D-Andrew Deal[4]; 5. 11-Avery Goodman[8]; 6. 17W-Harli White[16]; 7. 9-Chase Randall[19]; 8. 11G-Mike Goodman[1]; 9. 21P-Robbie Price[15]; 10. 10C-Jeremy Campbell[13]; 11. 1-Sean McClelland[2]; 12. 03-Joe Wood Jr[9]; 13. 23G-Steven Shebester[10]; 14. 94L-Layne Himebaugh[17]; 15. 26M-Fred Mattox[12]; 16. 7F-Noah Harris[20]; 17. 21K-Kevin Hinkle[14]; 18. 9$-Kyle Clark[5]; 19. 15-Jase Randolph[11]; 20. 24-Garet Williamson[18]