Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series Ready For Saturday's Duel At The Ditch


Bryan Hulbert - WEST MEMPHIS, Ark. (August 20, 2019) a $4,000 payday and bragging rights are up for grabs this Saturday, August 24 at the famed Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, Ark. the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network takes on the Stealth Recovery ASCS Mid-South Region.

The National Tour's 34th visit to the Arkansas quarter-mile, the track known as "The Ditch" last hosted the Series on August 24, 2017. Coming back from a dislocated rib and back issues earlier in the season, three-time National Tour Champion, and current ASCS Mid-South point's leader Tim Crawley, ran away from the field in the Mike Ward owned No. 88.

In 33 events since the series debuted at Riverside in 1995, a race topped by Terry Gray, 18 drivers have topped the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network at "The Ditch". Eddie Gallagher leads that statistic with six wins to his name. Tim Crawley's 2017 triumph as his fifth with the National Tour. Gary Wright with a trio of wins is joined by Terry Gray. A.G. Rains and Seth Bergman are the only other drivers with multiple wins, with each earning two.

Drivers with a single win to their credit include Brooke Tatnell, Chad Jones, Darren Stewart, Derek Hagar, Kenny Coke, Mike Ward, Pete Braswell, Pete Butler, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., Sam Hafertepe, Jr., Tony Bruce, Jr., and Travis Rilat.

Taking a 131-point advantage into the weekend, Sam Hafertepe, Jr. continues his march to a fourth consecutive title with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network. Winning at Riverside International Speedway on August 21, 2014, Hafertepe is the only full-time driver on the National Tour in 2019 who has won at Riverside. Blake Hahn, who finished sixth in the series 2017 visit, sits second in tour standings with Scott Bogucki in tow.

John Carney II in fourth is fresh off an ASCS Sooner Region victory at Lawton Speedway this past weekend and looks to carry that momentum into Riverside. Matt Covington holds fifth. Also picking up a win this past weekend, Roger Crockett made the trip to get laps at Lake Ozark Speedway this past Saturday night and holds sixth in tour standings. Harli White in seventh has Robbie Price in tow. A bit of a homecoming for Jordon Mallett, the Arkansas driver is ninth with Tucker Doughty looking to make his trek into the top-ten last. Alex Hill, who trails by three markers, is looking to regain the tenth spot.

Saturday, August 24 at Riverside International Speedway opens at 5:00 P.M. with races on track at 7:30 P.M. (CT). Admission is $25 for adults, $5 for youth 6-11, and free for kids five and younger. Saturday's program will also include Late Models and Stock Cars. Riverside International Speedway is located at 151 Legion Rd. in West Memphis, Ark. More information on the track can be found at or by calling (901) 840-1970.

For other news, notes, and information on the American Sprint Car Series, from the National Tour to any of the nine Regional Tours that make up ASCS Nation in 2019, log onto, follow on Facebook, on Instagram, and on Twitter (@LucasOilASCS).

Quick Reference:

Who: Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series and ASCS Mid-South
What: Duel at the Ditch
When: Saturday, August 24, 2019
Where: Riverside International Speedway (West Memphis, Ark.)

Prices, Times, and Other:

Admission: $25 (adults), $5 (youth 6-11), Free (kids 5 & under)
Grandstands: 5:00 P.M.
Driver's Meeting: 6:00 P.M.
Racing: 7:30 P.M.
Muffler Rules: ASCS Schoenfeld Required

Track Contact Information:

Address: 151 Legion Rd., West Memphis, AR
Phone: (901) 840-1970

2019 National Tour Driver Standings (Top 15): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 3,102; 2. Blake Hahn 2,971; 3. Scott Bogucki 2,918; 4. John Carney II 2,889; 5. Matt Covington 2,884; 6. Roger Crockett 2,787; 7. Harli White 2,620; 8. Robbie Price 2,582; 9. Jordon Mallett 2,467; 10. Tucker Doughty 2,349; 11. Alex Hill 2,346; 12. Jamie Ball 1,163; 13. Seth Bergman 826; 14. Wayne Johnson 762; 15. Jason Solwold 733;

2019 Race Winners: Sam Hafertepe, Jr. - 7 (5/17 - I-96 Speedway; 5/18 - I-96 Speedway; 5/25 - Lake Ozark Speedway; 6/5 - Lawton Speedway; 6/8 - Salina Speedway; 7/12 - Gallatin Speedway; 7/19 - Big Sky Speedway); Blake Hahn - 2 (6/20 - Skagit Speedway; 7/20 - Big Sky Speedway); Scott Bogucki - 2 (6/14 - Brown County Speedway; 6/15 - Black Hills Speedway); Thomas Kennedy - 2 (4/25 - Eagle Raceway, 4/26 - U.S. 36 Raceway); James McFadden - 2 (8/2 - Knoxville Raceway; 8/3 - Knoxville Raceway); John Carney II - 1 (5/26 - Lake Ozark Speedway); Travis Rilat - 1 (6/4 - Devil's Bowl Speedway); Roger Crockett - 1 (6/21 - Skagit Speedway); Robbie Price - 1 (6/22 - Skagit Speedway); Devon Borden - 1 (6/28 - Grays Harbor Raceway); Matt Covington - 1 (6/29 - Grays Harbor Raceway); Ryan Giles - 1 (8/1 - Knoxville Raceway); Wayne Johnson - 1 (8/6 - Southern Iowa Speedway);

Weather-Related Cancellations - 9: Devil's Bowl Speedway (3/15 and 3/16); Williams Grove Speedway (5/3); Selinsgrove Speedway (5/4); Lakeside Speedway (5/9); I-30 Speedway (5/11); Route 66 Motor Speedway (6/1); Creek County Speedway (6/6); Gallatin Speedway (7/13)

ASCS Online:

American Sprint Car Series:
Twitter: (@lucasoilascs)
Instagram: LucasOilASCS
Video Broadcast:
Live-Scoring (Where Applicable): MRP Live