Devil's Bowl Winter Nationals Next For Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series


Bryan Hulbert - MESQUITE, Texas (October 14, 2019) Down to the final four events of the 2019 season with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, two of those will be checked off this weekend at the 46th annual Devil's Bowl Winter Nationals at the famed Devil's Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas.

Taking place Friday, October 18 and Saturday, October 19, the half-mile Texas oval has been a staple of the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network since 1994 with 33 drivers earning wins over the course of 94 events.

Going into the Devil's Bowl doubleheader, the driver at the top of the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network standings is once again Sam Hafertepe, Jr. Trailing by 20-markers going into this past weekend's events at Creek County Speedway, Sam's ninth win of the season jettisoned the Heidbreder Foundation No. 15h to a 14-point advantage over Blake Hahn going into the Devil's Bowl Winter Nationals.

With history on his side, Hafertepe has topped the National Tour five times at the Devil's Bowl Speedway since 2011, including three consecutive wins in 2017. Hahn, who is winless at the Devil's Bowl in National Tour competition, has four podium runs with a trio of runner-up finishes, including the series' most recent visit during the 2019 ASCS Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek on June 4 which ended in a photo finish with Travis Rilat.

Looking back through the top ten in tour standings, Roger Crockett holds third by only 13 points over Matt Covington with Scott Bogucki in fifth. Trailing by 30 in sixth is John Carney II, followed by Robbie Price who has Harli White trailing by 17 markers. Jordon Mallett and Tucker Doughty complete the top-ten.

Friday, October 18 and Saturday, October 19 open at 5:00 P.M. with racing slated for 8:00 P.M. (CT). Friday includes IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars, Modifieds and Factory Stocks with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series racing for $3,000 to win, $400 to start. Saturday brings in IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars, Limited Modifieds, and Texas Winged Modifieds with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series purse upped to $4,000 to win, $400 to start.

Devil's Bowl Speedway is located at 1711 Lawson Rd. in Mesquite, Texas. Admission each night is $25 with Seniors, Military, and Kids 13-15 admitted for only $10. Children 12 and under are free into the grandstands. Pit Passes each night are $30. Tickets are on sale by calling (972) 222-2421 with other information and directions to the Devil's Bowl Speedway available at

For other news, notes, and information on the American Sprint Car Series, from the National Tour to any of the nine Regional Tours that make up ASCS Nation in 2019, log onto, follow on Facebook, on Instagram, and Twitter (@LucasOilASCS).

Quick Check

Who: Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series
What: 46th Devil's Bowl Winter Nationals
Where: Devil's Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, Texas)
When: Friday, October 18 and Saturday, October 19

Times, Prices, and Other Information:

Pits Open: Noon (Friday, open all day Saturday)
Pit Pass Admission: $30/night
Grandstands Open: 5:00 P.M. (Friday), 3:00 P.M. (Saturday)
Grandstand Admission: $25/night; 12 & under free
Driver's Meeting: 6:30 P.M. (Both Nights)
Racing: 8:00 P.M. (Both Nights)
Muffler Rule: ASCS Schoenfeld Muffler Required

Contact Info: Devil's Bowl Speedway

Address: 1711 Lawson Rd. Mesquite, TX 75181
Phone: (972) 222-2421

2019 National Tour Driver Standings (Top 15): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 3,920; 2. Blake Hahn 3,906; 3. Roger Crockett 3,646; 4. Matt Covington 3,633; 5. Scott Bogucki 3,554; 6. John Carney II 3,524; 7. Robbie Price 3,301; 8. Harli White 3,284; 9. Jordon Mallett 3,228; 10. Tucker Doughty 2,941; 11. Alex Hill 2,900; 12. Seth Bergman 1,606; 13. Jamie Ball 1,163; 14. Dylan Westbrook 1,082; 15. Paul Nienhiser 892;

2019 Race Winners: Sam Hafertepe, Jr. - 9 (5/17 - I-96 Speedway; 5/18 - I-96 Speedway; 5/25 - Lake Ozark Speedway; 6/5 - Lawton Speedway; 6/8 - Salina Speedway; 7/12 - Gallatin Speedway; 7/19 - Big Sky Speedway; 9/1 - Lake Ozark Speedway; 10/12 - Creek County Speedway); Blake Hahn - 5 (6/20 - Skagit Speedway; 7/20 - Big Sky Speedway; 8/30 - 34 Raceway; 9/19 - Lucas Oil Speedway; 9/21 - Lucas Oil Speedway); Robbie Price - 2 (6/22 - Skagit Speedway; 8/31 - Lake Ozark Speedway); Scott Bogucki - 2 (6/14 - Brown County Speedway; 6/15 - Black Hills Speedway); Thomas Kennedy - 2 (4/25 - Eagle Raceway, 4/26 - U.S. 36 Raceway); James McFadden - 2 (8/2 - Knoxville Raceway; 8/3 - Knoxville Raceway); John Carney II - 1 (5/26 - Lake Ozark Speedway); Travis Rilat - 1 (6/4 - Devil's Bowl Speedway); Roger Crockett - 1 (6/21 - Skagit Speedway); Devon Borden - 1 (6/28 - Grays Harbor Raceway); Matt Covington - 1 (6/29 - Grays Harbor Raceway); Ryan Giles - 1 (8/1 - Knoxville Raceway); Wayne Johnson - 1 (8/6 - Southern Iowa Speedway); Josh Baughman - 1 (9/20 - Lucas Oil Speedway);

Weather-Related Cancellations - 11: Devil's Bowl Speedway (3/15 and 3/16); Williams Grove Speedway (5/3); Selinsgrove Speedway (5/4); Lakeside Speedway (5/9); I-30 Speedway (5/11); Route 66 Motor Speedway (6/1); Creek County Speedway (6/6); Gallatin Speedway (7/13); Riverside International Speedway (8/24); Creek County Speedway (10/11);

ASCS Online:

American Sprint Car Series:
Twitter: (@lucasoilascs)
Instagram: LucasOilASCS
Video Broadcast:
Live-Scoring (Where Applicable): MRP Live

ASCS National Tour Drivers Online:

Seth Bergman (Snohomish, WA.):
Scott Bogucki (McLaren Vale, S. Aust.):
John Carney II (El Paso, TX):
Matt Covington (Glenpool, OK):
Roger Crockett (Broken Arrow, OK):
Tucker Doughty (Rockwall, TX):
Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Sunnyvale, TX):
Blake Hahn (Sapulpa, OK):
Alex Hill (Six Nations, Ontario, Can.):
Jordon Mallett (Greenbrier, AR):
Robbie Price (Cobble Hill, BC, Can.):
Harli White (Lindsay, OK):

ASCS Sponsors:

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV Motorsports Network is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto for more information. is the official SawBlade of the American Sprint Car Series and title sponsor of every National Tour A-Feature as well as Victory Lane. For more information, log onto and follow along on Social Media at @SawBladecom on Twitter, on Instagram at Sawblade.com_, and Facebook.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented the MAVTV Motorsports Network include Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix. All Heat Races are brought to you by SCE Gaskets. All B-Features are presented by BMRS.

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, Geico, SRI, General Tire, MAVTV Motorsports Network,, and General Tire.

All events are broadcast online at

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by SCE Gaskets, K&N Filters, BMRS, SpeedMart, Engler Machine and Tool, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Rod End Supply, Smiley's Racing Products, and Triple X Race, Co