Blake Brown Bags Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified Series Opener at I-75 Raceway

SWEETWATER, TENNESSEE (June 20, 2020)– The Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified Series would finally get to begin their 2020 racing season on Saturday evening at I-75 Raceway in Sweetwater, TN and Blake Brown of Corbin, KY would claim the $1,200 payday in a caution-plagued event that would see the yellow flag wave ten times. 

The victory by Brown would be his second career Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified Series tour victory and would come aboard the Cross Bar E-Cigs, Interstate Race Supply, Cureton-Hill Insurance Agency, Lawyer Muscle Racing by Aaron Howard, Tammy Brown Photography, Dart Defender, Edgewood Mobile Homes of Williamsburg, Holston Gas, Wheelersburg Raceway, GO Lithium, Swift Springs, WAR Shocks, American Racer Tire, Wilwood sponsored #99 Lightning Chassis, Vic Hill Race Engines powered entry. 

Clayton Miller would take the lead at the start of the event, with Blake Brown, Brandon Kinzer, Taylor Cook, and Ryan Ayers in pursuit. Three cautions would thwart the restart events and Miller and Brown would make contact with each other on the final lap two restart, with both drivers getting crossed up and sliding over the backchute, but both continued on, with Miller falling back to sixth and Brown back to seventh and handing the race lead over to Brandon Kinzer. Two more cautions would wave on lap four and the lap four restart before action got going again and Miller and Brown would begin to charge back toward the front, with Miller back to second and Brown to third by the time a pair of cautions would appear with ten laps scored. Kinzer would maintain the lead on the restart, while Brown would work past Miller for second and on lap fourteen, Brown would work past Kinzer for the lead, while Miller would charge past Kinzer for second on lap sixteen. The final cautions would wave on lap 20 and the ensuing restart, but once action resumed, Brown would maintain a comfortable lead over Miller and drive to the checkered flag first, with Miller taking runner-up honors, while Kinzer would complete the podium finishers. Jimmy Dalton would wind up fourth at the finish, with Jesse Rupe recovering from a lap eleven spin to finish fifth. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Bo Allison, Terry James, Brandon James, Billy Palmer, and Joey Cotterman.

The Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified Series next scheduled events are Friday July 31 at Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, NC and Saturday August 1 at Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, TN, with both events paying $1,200 to win.    

For more information on the Iron-Man Racing Series, call (828) 361-5981, visit or click the CT Promotions or Iron Man Racing Series pages on Facebook.

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified Series at I-75 Raceway in Sweetwater, TN on June 20, 2020
1. Blake Brown-Corbin, Ky.
2. Clayton Miller-Elkton, Ky.
3. Brandon Kinzer-Lexington, Ky.
4. Jimmy Dalton-Powell, Tenn.
5. Jesse Rupe-Sophia, West Va.
6. Bo Allison-Decatur, Tenn.
7. Terry James-Newport, Tenn.
8. Brandon James-Newport, Tenn.
9. Billy Palmer-Knoxville, Tenn.
10. Joey Cotterman-Cookeville, Tenn.
11. Jamie Mosley-London, Ky.
12. Ryan Ayers-Concord, N.C.
13. Taylor Cook-Stanley, N.C.
14. Kirk Turner-Crossville, Tenn.
15. Jeff Hamby-Lancing, Tenn.
16. John Smith-Winfield, Tenn.
17. Ricky Tinch-Deer Lodge, Tenn.
18. Jody Puckett-Melvin, Ky.
19. Wayne James-Newport, Tenn.
20. Amos Bunch-Wartburg, Tenn.
21. Travis Sietsema-Crossville, Tenn.
Did Not Start- Brian Skaggs-Pedro, Ohio

Time of Race: N/A
Margin of Victory: 1.073 seconds
Yellow Flags: Ten (lap 2, 2 restart, 2 restart, 4, 4 restart, 11, 11 restart, 11 restart, 20, 20 restart)
Red Flags: One (first lap 2 restart) 
Lap Leaders: Clayton Miller 1, Brandon Kinzer 2-13, Blake Brown 14-25
Entries: 22
Speedway Video Productions Top Qualifier: Taylor Cook 14.314 seconds
Speedway Video Productions Hard Charger: Jimmy Dalton (started 17th, finished 4th)
Double H Race Fabrication Middle Man Award (11th place finisher): Jamie Mosley
Provisional Starters: None

Heat One Finish (10 laps/all transfer)- Blake Brown, Taylor Cook, Joey Cotterman, Kirk Turner, Jamie Mosley, John Smith, Billy Palmer (DNS-Brian Skaggs)

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/all transfer)- Brandon Kinzer, Ricky Tinch, Jeff Hamby, Jody Puckett, Amos Bunch, Jimmy Dalton, Terry James

Heat Three Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Clayton Miller, Ryan Ayers, Jesse Rupe, Wayne James, Travis Sietsema, Bo Allison, Brandon James

Current Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified Series Points (after 6/20/2020)
1. Blake Brown-80
2. Clayton Miller-75
3. Brandon Kinzer-70
4. Jimmy Dalton-65
5. Jesse Rupe-60
6. Bo Allison-55
7. Terry James-53
8. Brandon James- 51
9. Billy Palmer-49
10. Joey Cotterman-47

Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Open Wheel Series Schedule/Results:
June 20-I-75 Raceway-Sweetwater, TN (BLAKE BROWN)
July 31-Tri-County Race Track-Brasstown, NC-$1,200 to win
August 1-Volunteer Speedway-Bulls Gap, TN-$1,200 to win
August 14-Crossville Speedway-Crossville, TN-$1,200 to win
August 15-I-75 Raceway-Sweetwater, TN-$1,200 to win
August 22-Wartburg Speedway-Wartburg, TN-$1,200 to win
November 28-411 Motor Speedway-Seymour, TN-$1,200 to win