Contact: Ben Shelton (
September 1, 2017

The Ragin’ Rebel Conquers the Ridge

Paragould, Arkansas (09/01/17) – The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil kicked off their Labor Day weekend tripleheader on Friday night at Crowley’s Ridge Raceway. For the second-straight year a first-time visitor from the state of Mississippi stole the $3,000 top prize.

David Breazeale, in just his second night in his brand-new #54 Rocket XR1 took the lead on lap 29 from Billy Moyer Jr., and led the final six circuits for his first-career CCSDS victory.

“I’ll be honest that I didn’t know what to think about this place when I first got here today, because it’s so small, but man this place lived up to the hype as one racy joint,” an elated Breazeale said after winning the finale. “Billy Franklin has given me a great opportunity here with this next Rocket XR1 and it’s been bad fast right out of the gate. I want to thank him and my team for giving me such an awesome car. I had a blast tonight.”

New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter, Robert Baker along with B.J. Robinson brought the field to the green for the 35-lap affair. Baker led the first two circuits before Billy Moyer Jr. shot to the lead on lap 3.

After a caution on lap 11, Moyer Jr. came under fire from Robinson on a track surface that was left tricky from the effects of the remnants of Hurricane Harvey one day earlier.

Robinson shot to the lead on lap 15, but lap 18 found Moyer Jr. retaking the top spot. Not only were Robinson and Moyer Jr. having a spirited battle for the lead, but 8th-starting Breazeale joined the fray by the race’s midway point as the trio went three wide at times.

Exiting turn 2, on lap 29 Breazeale – who is known as the Ragin’ Rebel – shot to the lead and would drive away from the field to claim the win. On the final lap Robinson slipped past Moyer Jr. for the runner-up spot in the final rundown. Jack Sullivan and Kyle Beard completed the Top-5 finishers.

The Larry Shaw Race Cars Ford Hard Charger Award went to Midwest Sheet Metal Rookie of the Year leader, Zach McMillan, who advanced from 13th to 6th.

Chandler Petty got the Henryetta Hard Luck Award after a flat tire early in the race forced him to relinquish a Top-5 spot and rejoin the tail of the pack.

Saturday night will take the tour to Jackson Motor Speedway (Byram, Mississippi) for the second time in 2017. A $2,500-to-win/$400-to-start finale will headline the program. Jack Sullivan emerged victorious when the tour invaded the ¼-mile oval in early July. Modifieds, NeSmith Street Stocks, NeSmith Crate Late Models, and Factory Stocks are also scheduled to be in action. Adult grandstand admission is $20 with senior citizens and military ($16). Kids (7-12 years of age) are $10 with kids (6 and under) free. Pit admission is $35 for adults. Kids (7-12 years of age) are $20 with children (6 and under) free. The pit gate opens at 3 p.m. with the grandstands opening at 5 p.m. For more information on the event, please visit .

The weekend draws to a close on Sunday evening at Wesley Washington’s Greenville Speedway (Greenville, Mississippi) with a $2,500-to-win/$350-to-start event. Jack Sullivan won the series only appearance of 2017 at the gumbo oval, while rain has stolen three other events at the facility this season. The Jimmy Huffman Memorial Cup 305 Sprint Cars, NeSmith Crate Late Models, NeSmith Street Stocks, Factory Stocks, and Outlaw Hobbies will also be on the evening’s card. Grandstand admission is $20 for adults with kids (6 to 14) $10 and children (5 and under) free. Pit admission is $35 for adults with kids (ages 6 to 14) $10 and children (ages 5 and under) free. For more information on the facility, please visit .

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Racing Tires, Larry Shaw Race Cars, New Vision Graphics, Black Diamond Chassis, Midwest Sheet Metal, Beene Oil Co., KARR Transportation Incorporated, Big Air, Quarter Master, Allen Manufacturing, Mid State Golf Cars, ROCKHARD Powder Coating, Mark Martin Automotive Group, Mark Martin Powersports, Henryetta Ford, Central Arkansas Pest Services, Beach Veterinary Services, Racing Head Service, McClain Custom Cabinets, P&W Sales, Schoenfeld Headers, and MSR Mafia Marketing Services.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – September 1, 2017
Crowley’s Ridge Raceway (Paragould, AR)

Feature Results
1)David Breazeale 2)BJ Robinson 3)Billy Moyer Jr. 4)Jack Sullivan 5)Kyle Beard 6)Zach McMillan 7)Garrett Alberson 8)Robert Baker 9)Hunter Rasdon 10)Eric Cooley 11)Justin Glover 12)Jeff Floyd 13)Chandler Petty 14)Robby Moore 15)Brandon Wilson 16)Tanner Kellick 17)Todd Hall 18)Mark Nichols 19)Gavin Landers 20)Carl Thomas 21)Jeff Moss 22)John Hill

DNS: Henry Gustavus Jr., Dewayne Kiefer, Charlie Cole, Steven Crocker, Jamie Robards, Scott Tracer

Entries: 28

Group A Fast Qualifier (and Overall): Robert Baker (12.290 seconds)
Group B Fast Qualifier: Garrett Alberson (12.381 seconds)
Black Diamond Chassis Heat Race #1 Winner: Robert Baker
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner: Billy Moyer Jr.
KARR Transportation Heat Race #3 Winner: BJ Robinson
ROCKHARD Powder Coating Heat Race #4 Winner: Jack Sullivan
Mark Martin Automotive Group B-Main #1: Zach McMillan
Racing Head Service B-Main #2: Gavin Landers
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Robert Baker
Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award: Chandler Petty
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Zach McMillan (13th-6th)
COMP Cams Top Performer:
Leaders: BJ Robinson (1-2, 15-17); Billy Moyer Jr. (3-14, 18-28); David Breazeale (29-35)
Cautions: 3
Red Flags: 0