Contact: Ben Shelton (
September 16, 2017

Jack Sullivan Tames Hammer Hill for Kuntz Classic Cash

Little Rock, Arkansas (09/16/17) – It was a familiar scene in COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil Victory Lane on Saturday night. Two-time and defending series champion, Jack Sullivan rumbled to his eighth series win of the year.

The triumph in the inaugural Jim Kuntz Classic at Little Rock’s I-30 Speedway was worth $3,000.

“It’s really cool to be in Victory Lane at this event that pays tribute to Mr. Jim (Kuntz),” Sullivan said after claiming his 24th career win with the series. “He’s done so much to help so many people over the years, and he did so much to help me early in my career. I hope tonight reminded him just how much he means to so many of us.”

After earning the most points in preliminary action, Jon Mitchell found himself positioned on the New Vision Graphics Pole Position for the 40-lap finale at the ¼-mile oval. The Texas racer was joined on the front row by the Midwest Sheet Metal Marked Man, Jack Sullivan.

Sullivan jumped to the lead at the drop of the green flag and went on to lead all 40 circuits in the event, which was slowed by only one caution. Mitchell finished 1.6 seconds back in the runner-up spot while seventh-starting Morgan Bagley rounded out the podium. Hunter Rasdon and Chandler Petty completed the Top-5 finishers.

David Payne was the recipient of the Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award after mechanical plagued him throughout the night.

Garrett Alberson received the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award for passing seven cars to finish eighth.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series has one event remaining on the 2017 docket. The tour will sanction the annual LoneStar Turkey Nationals on Saturday, November 25 at Lone Star Speedway (Kilgore, Texas). The program will post a $5,000-to-win/$500-to-start purse for the 50-lap finale. For more information on the event, please visit

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Racing Tires, Larry Shaw Race Cars, New Vision Graphics, Black Diamond Chassis, Midwest Sheet Metal, Beene Oil Co., KARR Transportation Incorporated, Big Air, Quarter Master, Allen Manufacturing, Mid State Golf Cars, ROCKHARD Powder Coating, Mark Martin Automotive Group, Mark Martin Powersports, Henryetta Ford, Central Arkansas Pest Services, Beach Veterinary Services, Racing Head Service, McClain Custom Cabinets, P&W Sales, Schoenfeld Headers, and MSR Mafia Marketing Services.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – September 16, 2017
I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR)

Feature Results
1)Jack Sullivan 2)Jon Mitchell 3)Morgan Bagley 4)Hunter Rasdon 5)Chandler Petty 6)Gavin Landers 7)Kyle Beard 8)Garrett Alberson 9)BJ Robinson 10)Zach McMillan 11)Tommy Surrett 12)Robert Baker 13)Rick Hearnsberger 14)Tanner Kellick 15)Brandon Wilson 16)Lynn Beach 17)Charlie Cole 18)Brett Frazier 19)Justin Glover 20)Austin Rettig

DNS: Eckie Harrison, Shane Stephens, David Payne, Travis Ashley, Carl Thomas, Joseph Long

Entries: 26
Black Diamond Chassis Heat Race #1 Winner: Gavin Landers
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner: Jack Sullivan
KARR Transportation Heat Race #3 Winner: Hunter Rasdon
Racing Head Service Heat Race #4 Winner: Jon Mitchell
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Jon Mitchell
Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award: David Payne
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Garrett Alberson (15th-8th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Jack Sullivan
Lap Leaders: Jack Sullivan (1-40)
Cautions: 1
Red Flags: 0