Contact: Ben Shelton (
October 12, 2019

The Reaper Races to First-Career CCSDS Victory at Lucas Oil Speedway
Sixth Annual Lucas Oil Fall Nationals Concludes on Sunday Afternoon

Wheatland, Missouri (10/12/19) – Overcoming being collected in a lap-1, multi-car tangle, 10th-starting Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown Iowa stormed to his first-career COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil win on Saturday night at the state-of-the-art confines of Lucas Oil Speedway.

"This Rocket (XR-1) was just on a rail," the 10th-starting Gustin said in victory lane, praising his crew for getting it prepared. “Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine we'd come back [to racing Dirt Late Models] and win like that. But this XR1 is on a rail and it don't get no better.”

Mark Martin Automotive Fast Qualifier and first heat race winner, Tyler Bruening led the field to the green flag for the 50-lap event with Tony Jackson Jr. alongside. The first-two attempts to get the race underway were thwarted by melees with the most significant being on the second attempt when nine-cars tangled with Payton Looney getting the worst of the damage as he ended up on his lid. Thankfully he was uninjured.

The third attempt to start the race was the charm, and Iowa’s Bruening bolted to the lead with Brian Rickman in tow. Two more cautions slowed the action on laps 8 and 10, with the most notable being the latter as CCSDS Championship contender, Tony Jackson Jr. spun from the second spot. He was able to rejoin the back of the pack but only mustered an 18th-place finish, while Midwest Sheet Metal Marked Man, Timothy Culp finished eighth.

After the lap-10 caution, the rest of the event went caution free. Bruening led until lap 29, when Gustin swept past for the top spot. From that point Gustin eased away from the field, on his way to the opening round win in the sixth annual Lucas Oil Fall Nationals. His first-career, CCSDS victory was worth $5,000 plus an additional $750 bonus on behalf of the family of Ron Jenkins, the original builder of the Wheatland Raceway.

Bruening, Chad Simpson, Will Vaught, and Brian Rickman completed the Top-5 finishers.

The sixth annual Lucas Oil Fall Nationals concludes on Sunday, October 13 with a $3,000-To-Win, 40 lapper for the CCSDS contingent. Gates open at 1:00 p.m. with hot laps at 3:30 p.m. and racing action at 4:00 p.m. The USRA B-Mods Clash of Champions $3,000-To-Win finale is scheduled for Sunday evening as well.

Adult grandstand admission on Sunday is $15 with senior citizens and military $12 with children (ages 6-15) $5 and kids (ages 5-and-under) free. A family pass is available for $35.

For more information on the facility and the event, please visit .

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Pannell Chipping, VP Racing Fuels, Mark Martin Automotive, Keyser Manufacturing, P&W Sales, Allen Manufacturing, Integra Shocks, New Vision Graphics, Rocket Chassis, Midwest Sheet Metal,, Black Diamond Chassis, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Midwest Automation, Hoosier Race Tires, Bennings Heating & Air, Smiley’s Racing Products, Dixon Road U-Pull-It, Bad Boy Mowers, Beach Veterinarian Services, Air Power Consultants, Schoenfeld Headers, Hooker Harness, MI Truck Center, ASC Warranty, Quickcar Racing Products, Taylor Electric, M&M Paint, and MSR Mafia Marketing Services.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – October 12, 2019
Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, Missouri)

Feature Results
1)Ryan Gustin 2)Tyler Bruening 3)Chad Simpson 4)Will Vaught 5)Brian Rickman 6)Jason Papich 7)Mitch McGrath 8)Timothy Culp 9)Jake Neal 10)B.J. Robinson 11)Logan Martin 12)Mason Oberkramer 13)Scott Drake 14)Morgan Bagley 15)Colton Horner 16)Terry Phillips 17)Gavin Landers 18)Tony Jackson Jr. 19)Ryan Johnson 20)Hunter Rasdon 21)Scott Crigler 22)David Payne 23)Joe Gorby 24)Payton Looney

Entries: 38
Mark Martin Fast Qualifier ($100):
Black Diamond Chassis Heat Race #1 Winner: Tyler Bruening
P&W Sales Heat Race #2 Winner: Brian Rickman
Pannell Chipping Heat Race #3 Winner: Tony Jackson Jr.
Rocket Chassis Heat Race #4 Winner: Payton Looney
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Tyler Bruening
Hoosier Racing Tire B-Main Winners: B.J. Robinson, Scott Crigler
COMP Cams Top Performer: Ryan Gustin
Cautions: 3
Red Flag: 1
Lap Leaders: Tyler Bruening (1-28), Ryan Gustin (29-50)

Contingency Awards
Mark Martin Fast Qualifier Award ($100): Tyler Bruening (16.740 seconds)
Midwest Sheet Metal Marked Man Award ($50): Timothy Culp
Midwest Sheet Metal Rookie Award ($50): Scott Crigler
Black Diamond Chassis Award ($50): B.J. Robinson
Integra Shocks Manufacturing Award ($50): Brian Rickman
Rocket Chassis Award ($50): Morgan Bagley
Midwest Automation Award ($50): Scott Crigler
Bennings Heating & Air Award ($50): Timothy Culp
Dixon Road U-Pull-It Award ($50): Hunter Rasdon
ASC Warranty Award ($50): Chad Mallett
VP Racing Fuels Award ($50): David Payne
P&W Sales Award ($50): Tony Jackson Jr.
Keyser Manufacturing Award ($50): Gavin Landers