Jason Welshan Wins 2nd Annual Frostbuster 40 at 411 Motor Speedway
-Mike Marlar Masters Open Wheel Modified Frostbuster 25 Main Event-

By Michael Despain

SEYMOUR, TN (February 25, 2017)- CT Promotions and 411 Motor Speedway would again partner for another early season special event in the form of the Second Annual Frostbuster 40 for Super Late Models and Jason Welshan of Maryville, TN would score the victory and $3,500 payday. The Open Wheel Modifieds would also be a part of the program and Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN would claim the $1,000 victory in the Frostbuster 25 for the division.

Welshan would drive to victory in the Super Late Model portion of the Frostbuster in the Hidden Hollow Motorsports/C and J Trucking/Competition Racing Equipment/Sexton Construction sponsored #29 Longhorn Chassis, B and B Performance Race Engine entry. Marlar’s victory in the Open Wheel Modified portion of the program would come aboard the Speedy Towing sponsored #1 Performance Chassis.

Jason Welshan would take the initial race lead, with Cory Hedgecock working past John Ownbey in the early going to take the second position, with Donald McIntosh holding down the third spot by lap 5. Welshan would stretch his lead a bit until he started the process of working slower traffic on lap 11 and this would allow Hedgecock to close in on Welshan for the lead. At this point, Welshan and Hedgecock would put on a clinic as the pair would masterfully work slower traffic, but as they proceeded to work traffic and race each other, McIntosh would start to close in on the lead pair by lap 21. The first caution of the event would wave on lap 26 when Billy Ogle, Jr. would spin in turn one as the lead duo of Welshan and Hedgecock was set to attempt to put him a lap down. The restart would see McIntosh snatch the second position away from Hedgecock and McIntosh would briefly take the lead from Welshan exiting turn two on lap 28 with a slidejob pass, however, Welshan would deliver a slidejob of his own in return and remain as the leader as the field completed lap 28. Welshan would pull away from McIntosh a bit with eight laps remaining, but one more caution would slow the event as debris would be on the track in turn three on lap 35 and third place running Hedgecock would pull to the infield with mechanical issues and would be finished for the event. The final five circuits would see Welshan maintain a comfortable lead and take the event win, with McIntosh finishing second, while Mike Weeks would finish in the third position. Michael Chilton and polesitter Ownbey would complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be led by fourteenth place starting Carder Miller, Steve Smith, Stacy Boles, fifteenth starting Shanon Buckingham, and Ryan King.

The Open Wheel Modified main event would be a caution free affair with Mike Marlar leading all 25 circuits to claim the victory. Ernie Gingrich and Brad Hall would battle for the second position in the last half of the race, with Gingrich able to hold off Hall to claim the runner-up spot. Jody Puckett and Jimmy Dalton would round out the top five finishers. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Brad Dyer, Skylar Marlar, Austin Francis, A.J. Garber, and Wayne James.

For more information concerning CT Promotions, visit or contact series race director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723.

CT Promotions Super Late Models
2nd Annual Frostbuster 40- 411 Motor Speedway (Seymour, TN)- February 25, 2017
Official A-Main Finish (40 laps/$3,500 to win)
1. Jason Welshan (Maryville, TN)
2. Donald McIntosh (Dawsonville, GA)
3. Mike Weeks (Lenoir City, TN)
4. Michael Chilton (Salvisa, KY)
5. John Ownbey (Cleveland, TN)
6. Carder Miller (Salem, VA)
7. Steve Smith (Powell, TN)
8. Stacy Boles (Clinton, TN)
9. Shanon Buckingham (Morristown, TN)
10. Ryan King (Seymour, TN)
11. Billy Ogle, Jr. (Knoxville,TN)
12. Matt Henderson (Loudon, TN)
13. Brian Smith (Barbourville, KY)
14. James Williamson (Ivel, KY)
15. Robby Moses (Maryville, TN)
16. Mitchell Childress (Seymour, TN)
17. Andrew Littleton (Chatsworth, GA)
18. Clayton Turner (Toccoa, GA)
19. Floyd Self (Asheville, NC)
20. Cory Hedgecock (Loudon, TN)
21. Dakotah Knuckles (Ewing, VA)
22. Levi Ashby (Cumberland Furnace, TN)

Total Entries- 27
Lap Leaders- 1 (Welshan 1-40)
Cautions- 2 (Lap 26- Ogle, Jr.; Lap 35- debris)
Red Flags- None
Time of Race- 19 mintues, 34 seconds
Margin of Victory- 0.651 seconds
Top Qualifier- Group A: John Ownbey 15.693
Group B: Jason Welshan 15.616 ($100 in racing photos from Wells
Racing Photos)

Last Chance B-Main (10 Laps/Top Six Transfer)- Robby Moses, Andrew Littleton, James Williamson, Billy Ogle, Jr., Levi Ashby, Floyd Self, Jimmy Smith, Shane Bailey, Craig Greer (DNS- Darrick York, David Crabtree)

Group A Locked-In Drivers via Time Trials- John Ownbey (15.693), Donald McIntosh (16.098), Mike Weeks (16.345), Michael Chilton (16.362), Mitchell Childress (16.477), Ryan King (16.482), Brian Smith (16.535), Shanon Buckingham (16.542)

Group B Locked-In Drivers via Time Trials- Jason Welshan (15.616), Cory Hedgecock (16.011), Dakotah Knuckles (16.016), Stacy Boles (16.115), Steve Smith (16.121), Matt Henderson (16.150), Carder Miller (16.244), Clayton Turner (16.395)

CT Promotions Open Wheel Modifieds
1st Annual Frostbuster 25- 411 Motor Speedway (Seymour, TN)- February 25, 2017
Official A-Main Finish (25 laps/$1,000 to win)
1. Mike Marlar (Winfield, TN)
2. Ernie Gingrich (Bunker Hill, IN)
3. Brad Hall (Knoxville, TN)
4. Jody Puckett (Melvin, KY)
5. Jimmy Dalton (Powell, TN)
6. Brad Dyer (Mohawk, TN)
7. Skylar Marlar (Winfield, TN)
8. Austin Francis (Prestonsburg, KY)
9. A.J. Garber (Whitleyville, TN)
10. Wayne James (Cosby, TN)
11. Greg Brown (Concord, NC)
12. Billy Palmer (Knoxville, TN)
13. Tim Patrick (Albany, KY)
14. Eric Hill (Youngsville, NC)
15. Logan Kirkman (Richmond, IN)
16. Richard Clew (Mocksville, NC)
17. Amos Bunch (Wartburg, TN)
DNS- Shon Flanary (Surgoinsville, TN)

Total Entries- 18
Lap Leaders- 1 (Marlar 1-25)
Cautions- None
Red Flags- None
Time of Race- 11 minutes, 50 seconds
Margin of Victory- 1.545 seconds
Top Qualifier- Mike Marlar 17.397