Petty paces the field in GRT Legends Series race at Batesville Motor Speedway in wire-to-wire win! 

(BATESVILLE, AR) June 18th 2022 – Chandler Petty came into tonight's event, not in the familiar #47 but rather piloting his father’s #R5. What was meant to be just a ‘shake down’ turned into a down-right ‘BOOGIE DOWN’ at Batesville Motor Speedway. 

Petty, your John R. Nelson Trucking third heat race winner, drew the inversion pill number 6. Little did he know - that would be just what he needed to invert the field and put himself on the outside of row 1 to start the (25) lap A-Main. To his inside would be the two-time series champion, Scotty Freeman in his Advanced Collision Systems/PSG Heating & Air/BARE Race Engines/Rocket #007. Petty wasted no time jumping to the early lead and he set sail towards a cool $1,000 payday piloting the K & G Wholesale Tires/Ingram Crate Engines/Black Diamond #R5. 

"Man we bought this car, originally for my dad to get some seat time in a dirt late model. Believe it or not it’s a CRUSA car and we run it on e85. It’s an early 2014 (Chassis #22) Black Diamond. Honestly, set up notes from days at Black Diamond proved to be the key tonight,” said Chandler.  He continued with “You could really move around, the track was good, had some character and I was surprised we went 25 laps caution free. Shout out to all the guys for some good clean racing.” Primary sponsors K & G Wholesale Tires/Ingram Crate Engines/Black Diamond.

Fourth starting Geoff Aitken in his Doug’s Electrical Service/Kirby Specialties/Mullins Race Engines/Rocket #16 earned the runner up spot with Warren, Arkansas’ Derrick Nichols and his #13 David Nichols Logging/Kuntz/Rocket claiming the final spot on the podium.

The night’s pole award (before invert) went to the 4th place finisher, Ross Farmer in his Farmer Tree Service/Odell Chase Racing Engines/Rocket XR1 #32, and marching through the field, from 10th starting spot, and proving “little motors can still hang” was Little Rock, Arkansas’ Alan Brown in his D & K Farms/MPV Express/Ellis Crate Engine/Trakstar finishing a strong 5th. 

Aitken said afterwards “It was my first time ever in a car at BMS, I felt like my car was better than me tonight for sure.” Aitken would win his second heat and keep him in the middle of the invert, starting 4th in the A Main.

“Chandler was on his own planet – he just took off and was gone. It felt good to run up front and I want to thank all my sponsors and the Mullins Race Engine gave me the power and the XR1 handled great – just wish I could have been a bit better.” 

Sixth through tenth went to the #4Play of Ben Waggoner, #3N Nathan Brown, #007 Freeman, and the hard charger of the night, #38 Robert Myers of Pottsville, Arkansas. 

The series picks back up, just 6 days from now, on June 24th at the Central Arkansas Motor Speedway for the first of (2) scheduled trips there this season. Also on hand will be the Arkansas Factory Stocks, IMCA Modifieds, and IMCA Stock Cars. Pits open at 5pm; grandstands at 5pm; racing is at 8 pm. 

For more information on the Legends Late Model Series, you can find them on the web at or on Facebook @LegendsLateModels

For more information about the SuperClean family of products and to find the retailer nearest you, visit their website at or on Facebook @SuperCleanBrands 

A Feature 1 25 Laps | 00:11:01.292 | Super Clean 
1. R5-Chandler Petty[2]; 2. 16-Geoff Aitken[4]; 3. 13N-Derrick Nichols[7]; 4. 32-Ross Farmer[6]; 5. 48-Alan Brown[10]; 6. 4PLAY-Ben Waggoner[11]; 7. 3N-Nathan Brown[8]; 8. 007-Scott Freeman[1]; 9. 38-Robert Myers[18]; 10. 747-Lane Carr[17]; 11. (DNF) 7W-Wesley Wise[13]; 12. (DNF) 37L-Joseph Long[3]; 13. (DNF) 33-Steven Crocker[15]; 14. (DNF) 1-Bryan Glaze[9]; 15. (DNS) 1X-Kris Lloyd; 16. (DNS) 75B-Bobby Blankenship; 17. (DNS) 17-Jeremy Tharp; 18. (DNS) 26R-Dustin Holmes 

Tharp Automotive Pole Award/Quick Time: 32-Ross Farmer 
Designer Graphics Hard Charger: 38-Robert Myers 

Heat 1 10 Laps | 00:11:08.000 | John R. Nelson Trucking & Excavating 
1. 1X-Kris Lloyd[4]; 2. 32-Ross Farmer[6]; 3. (DNF) 4PLAY-Ben Waggoner[2]; 4. (DNF) 7W-Wesley Wise[3]; 5. (DNF) 17-Jeremy Tharp[1]; 6. (DNS) 747-Lane Carr

Heat 2 10 Laps | 00:03:54.000 | Eckie's DCR Racing Parts & Fuel 
1. 16-Geoff Aitken[3]; 2. 13N-Derrick Nichols[2]; 3. 007-Scott Freeman[4]; 4. 1-Bryan Glaze[1]; 5. (DNF) 33-Steven Crocker[5]; 6. (DNS) 38-Robert Myers

Heat 3 10 Laps | 00:05:53.000 | Super Clean 
1. R5-Chandler Petty[2]; 2. 37L-Joseph Long[4]; 3. 3N-Nathan Brown[1]; 4. 48-Alan Brown[3]; 5. (DNF) 75B-Bobby Blankenship[6]; 6. (DNF) 26R-Dustin Holmes[5]