Crocker Wins Fowler/Blankenship Memorial GRT Legends Event at Centerville

(CENTERVILLE, AR) July 1, 2022 – Steven Crocker scored his career biggest payday this past Friday night at the Jimmy Don Fowler/David Blankenship Memorial event held with the GRT Legends Late Model Series presented by SuperClean at the Centerville Super Speedway.

Crocker was able to top the field of (19) #LocalLegends and had to earn his second row starting spot through a tough heat race field including the #16 of Geoff Aitken, currently second in series standings, and #53 Eckie Harrison from North Little Rock.  Aitken would start on the pole of the main event in his tribute car adorned with the paint schemes of the race namesake on each side.  One side represented the familiar blue, red, and white #23 of David Blankenship and the other representing the orange and white #30 of Jimmy Don Fowler.

The quick time of the night went to the #13 of Derrick Nichols of Warren, Arkansas and after a second-place finish in his heat and the invert he started the (25) lap A Main on the outside front row. Current points leader, Chandler Petty in the R5 and heat race winner 4-B Ben Waggoner had to start from the third row due to the invert.

On the start it was Aitken out front and Crocker falling into second and a turn four wreck on the opening lap would send the #11 of Nathan Stewart, Harrisons #53, and the #75 of Bobby Blankenship pitside.  Once the green flag fell and lap two was in the books – that was all it took for Crocker to slip under Aitken for the point and he went on to win in commanding fashion.  Crocker would be able to get through lap traffic with no issue while a hard charging Nichols, Petty, and Waggoner were trying to run him down. 

At the halfway mark it was Crocker, Nichols, Petty, and Waggoner and that’s how it would finish.  Aitken would bring home the tribute ride in 5th and #26R Ross Farmer, #7W Wesley Wise, Indianola, MS driver Chris Showah in the #0, #38 Robert Myers, and #21 Lee Bratton would round out the top 10.

Showah picked up the $100 longest tow bonus from race sponsor Circle A Electrical and Waggoner, Aitken, and Farmer all picked up $100 bonuses each courtesy of Doug’s Electrical Service.

The race sponsors, THISLDU Racing, Fowler Excavation, Insulation Works, Blankenship Pit Stop, True Grit Auctions, and DoneRight Construction all made contributions to bring the purse to the $3,023 to win and $132 to start paying homage to the racer’s numbers.  The family of both were on hand for photos and fellowship and have already started planning the second annual event for 2023.

“This was a great show, a perfect turn out, and an honor for us to sanction this event for two of my own childhood racing heroes.  We are already speaking with the family to sanction the event again in 2023 and hopefully again on Independence Day weekend,” said series director Justin Newman.

The series is back in action this weekend, Saturday July 9th at the I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, AR for the Louie Lakey Tribute.  The event will feature the famous fireworks show plus IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Mod Lites, IMCA Stock Cars, and Young Guns.  Admission is $20 for adults, kids 12 and under are FREE compliments of Dove Plumbing.  Pit passes are $30.

For more information on the Legends Late Model Series, you can find them on the web at or on Facebook @LegendsLateModels

For more information about the SuperClean family of products and to find the retailer nearest you, visit their website at or on Facebook @SuperCleanBrands

Dirt Late Models 19 Entries

A Feature 25 Laps | 00:17:49.824 | Super Clean

1. 33-Steven Crocker[3]; 2. 13N-Derrick Nichols[2]; 3. R5-Chandler Petty[6]; 4. 4 B-Ben Waggoner[5]; 5. 16-Geoff Aitken[1]; 6. 26R-Ross Farmer[4]; 7. 0-Chris Showah[12]; 8. 7W-Wesley Wise[7]; 9. 38-Robert Myers [14]; 10. 21-Lee Bratton[10]; 11. (DNF) 4 PLAY-Edward Hoyer[16]; 12. (DNF) 8-Dustin Holmes[11]; 13. (DNF) 10-David Dunn[13]; 14. (DNF) 75B-Bobby Blakenship[15]; 15. (DNF) 53-Eckie Harrison[9]; 16. (DNF) 11-Nathan Stewart[8]; 17. (DNS) 1-Bryan Glaze; 18. (DNS) 007-Scotty Freeman; 19. (DNS) 66-Joseph Long

Heat 1 10 Laps | 00:02:55.000 | Eckie's DCR Racing & Parts

1. R5-Chandler Petty[6]; 2. 13N-Derrick Nichols[1]; 3. 7W-Wesley Wise[2]; 4. 0-Chris Showah[3]; 5. 38-Robert Myers[5]; 6. 75B-Bobby Blakenship[7]; 7. (DNS) 66-Joseph Long

Heat 2 10 Laps | 00:03:23.000 | John R. Nelson Trucking & Excavation

1. 33-Steven Crocker[1]; 2. 16-Geoff Aitken[2]; 3. 53-Eckie Harrison[3]; 4. 21-Lee Bratton[5]; 5. 10-David Dunn[6]; 6. (DNF) 4 PLAY-Edward Hoyer[4]

Heat 3 10 Laps | 00:04:41.000 | Super Clean

1. 4 B-Ben Waggoner[2]; 2. 26R-Ross Farmer[4]; 3. 11-Nathan Stewart[3]; 4. 8-Dustin Holmes[1]; 5. (DNF) 1-Bryan Glaze[5]; 6. (DNS) 007-Scotty Freeman