Scott James and Lucas Lee Score Ninth Annual Hangover Victories at 411 Motor Speedway

By Michael Despain

SEYMOUR, TENNESSEE – December 29, 2018 – CT Promotions would sanction the Super Late Model and Open Wheel Modified portion of the Ninth Annual Hangover at 411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, TN and Scott James of Lawrenceburg, IN would claim the $4,000 victory in the Super Late Model contest, while Lucas Lee of Paris TN would score the $1,200 victory in the Open Wheel Modified portion of the event. 

James would claim the win in Super Late Model action behind the wheel of the Dolhun Motorsports owned Complete Heat Treating, Wisconsin Steel Industries, Spark-Lin Acres Farms, K-Bar-C Bucking Bulls, Suburban Drywall, Suburban Visuals, G&G Specialized Carriers, Powell Trucking sponsored #83 Rocket Chassis, Pro Power Race Engines entry. Lee would score the victory in the Open Wheel Modified division aboard his Tank Lines of Paris, 45 Race Shop, Brucebilt Performance, Wiles Driveshafts sponsored #12 Brucebilt Race Cars, KMF Race Engines mount.

The start of the Super Late Model feature event would see polesitter David Crabtree do a 360 degree in turn two, but would keep going, with this allowing Scott James to take command of the event, with Chicky Barton, Jackie Boggs, Ryan King, and Corey Hedgecock in pursuit in the early going. Crabtree would draw the first caution on lap three with a flat left-rear tire and would retire from the event. Back underway, Mack McCarter would make his way into the fifth position on lap six, with the lead duo of James and Barton in traffic by lap seven, with Barton challenging James for the lead, only to have an incident involving P.J. Simpson and Levi Ashby slow the action. The restart would see McCarter blast his way to fourth and take third on lap eleven from Boggs, while King took fourth from Boggs one circuit later. Barton would challenge James for the lead and would grab the top spot on lap 15 and pull away quickly, but a caution on lap seventeen for Johnny Cloer would again slow the action. While this caution was displayed, race leader Barton would pull pitside to the work area with a flat right-rear tire and he would return to competition, but this would give the lead back to James. James and McCarter would scoot away from the field on the restart and after a caution for Bo Eaton on lap twenty, McCarter would take the lead on the restart when James nipped the wall in turn three. McCarter would pull away a bit at this point, only to see James close back in on McCarter by lap twenty-eight, but disaster would strike McCarter two circuits later when he contacted the outside retaining wall on the frontstretch and would stop on lap thirty to slow the action. A trio of caution flags would fly on lap thirty-one as the race attempted to restart, with the final caution of the race showing itself on lap thirty-three when Todd Coffman stopped in turn one after having a flat right-rear tire. James would cruise the remaining handful of laps to score the victory, with fifteenth-lace starting McIntosh finish second, while King completed the podium finishers in third. Eric Webber would finish fourth, with Coffman being credited with a fifth-place effort.

Lucas Lee would jump to the lead in the early stages of the Open Wheel Modified feature contest and would hold off challenges from Jesse Rupe in the early stages of the event and then hold off the charges of teammate Michael Lee over final ten laps of the event to claim the win, which would be his second consecutive victory at the Hangover. Trailing Lucas Lee at the finish would be Michael Lee, with second-generation speedster Tyler James coming home in the third position. Hoosier state natives Kenny Carmichael, Sr. and twenty-first starting Brent Hudson completed the top five. The remainder of the top ten would be Wayne James, Austin Lynn, Amos Bunch, Robert Poole, and Andy Sherley.

Further information concerning CT Promotions and their events can be obtained by calling Promoter Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for CT Promotions Super Late Model Hangover at 411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, TN on December 29, 2018
1. Scott James-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
2. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
3. Ryan King-Seymour, Tenn.
4. Eric Webber-Morristown, Tenn.
5. Todd Coffman-Junction City, Ky.
6. Mack McCarter-Gatlinburg, Tenn.
7. Chicky Barton-Middlesboro, Ky.
8. Myles Moos-Lincoln, Ill.
9. Johnny Cloer-Chatsworth, Ga.
10. Bo Eaton-Blue Ridge, Ga.
11. Cory Hedgecock-Loudon, Tenn.
12. Jackie Boggs-Grayson, Ky.
13. Levi Ashby-Cumberland Furnace, Tenn.
14. Ruben Mayfield-Lenoir City, Tenn.
15. P.J. Simpson-Cynthiana, Ky.
16. Christian Hanger-Winchester, Tenn.
17. David Crabtree-Maryville, Tenn.
18. Patrick Duggan-Lenoir City, Tenn.
19. Walker Arther-Forest, Va.
20. Layne Clifton-Seymour, Tenn.
21. Ray Cook-Brasstown, N.C.
22. Colton Flinner-Allison Park, Pa.

Time of Race: 42 minutes, 50 seconds
Margin of Victory: 2.656 seconds
Yellow Flags: Nine (Lap 3, 10, 17, 20, 30, 31, 31 restart, 31 restart, 33)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Scott James 1-14, 17-19, 30-40; Chicky Barton 15-16; Mack McCarter 20-29
Entries: 33
Overall Top Qualifier: David Crabtree (Group A) 13.012 seconds (New Track Record)

Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 6 transfer)- Ray Cook, Colton Flinner, Donald McIntosh, Myles Moos, Eric Webber, Layne Clifton, Tyler Bare, John Ownbey, Fred Perry, Jr., Stacy Boles, Steve Smith (DNS-Stephen Breeding)

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top 6 transfer)- Todd Coffman, Ruben Mayfield, Levi Ashby, Bo Eaton, Christian Hanger, P.J. Simpson, Daniel Dial (DNS-Glenn Vanover, John Minon, Jeff Robertson, Steve Robertson)


Feature Results for CT Promotions Open Wheel Modified Hangover at 411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, TN on December 29, 2018
1. Lucas Lee-Paris, Tenn.
2. Michael Lee-Paris, Tenn.
3. Tyler James-Newport, Tenn.
4. Kenny Carmichael, Sr.-Terre Haute, Ind.
5. Brent Hudson-Terre Haute, Ind.
6. Wayne James-Newport, Tenn.
7. Austin Lynn-Mason City, Ill.
8. Amos Bunch-Wartburg, Tenn.
9. Robert Poole-Sherrills Ford, N.C.
10. Andy Sherley-Sheridan, Ind.
11. Jason Montgomery-Jackson, Oh.
12. Cameron Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
13. Jeff Hamby-Lancing, Tenn.
14. Zac Harris-Elkton, Ky.
15. Corey Partin-Black Oak, Ind.
16. Jerry Gibson, Jr.-Erlanger, Ky.
17. Jesse Rupe-Sophia, West Va.
18. Joey Cotterman-Cookeville, Tenn.
19. Seth Daniels-Jackson, Oh.
20. Tommy Bailey-Corbin, Ky.
21. Billy Palmer-Knoxville, Tenn.
22. Clayton Miller-Elkton, Ky.

Time of Race: N/A
Margin of Victory: 0.909 seconds
Yellow Flags: Seven (Lap 3, 4, 11, 15, 19, 22, 23)
Red Flags: One (Lap 24)
Lap Leaders: Lucas Lee 1-25
Entries: 34
Overall Top Qualifier: Clayton Miller 14.447 seconds

Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Jason Montgomery, Billy Palmer, Tyler James, Austin Lynn, Daniel Webb, Roger Jackson, Russ Gabbert, Dustin Diden

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Kenny Carmichael, Sr., Corey Partin, Zac Harris, Brent Hudson, Eric Moon, Glen Hounshell, Brian Nantz (DNS-Josh Henry)

Heat Three Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Wayne James, Robert Poole, Jerry Gibson, Jr, Andy Sherley, Chad Crain, Cody Downs (DNS-Brett Kennard, Logan Kirkman)