Kenny Collins Captures Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Series Victory at I-75 Raceway

Story by Michael Despain
Photo by Tommy Yates

Sweetwater, TN (April 8, 2017)- The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Series Super Late Model visited I-75 Raceway for the track’s first-ever Super Late Model event and Kenny Collins of Colbert, Ga. would etch his name in the record book as the winner of the 30 lap, $3,000 to win event.

Collins would sweep the evening’s activities as he would also be the top qualifier and he would lead all 30 circuits of the main event to score the victory in his Dockery Specialized Transport/Southeast Miscellaneous Erectors/Jake’s Drywall/Collins Signs/Thomas Clarke Performance/Erwin Racing Supply/Kenny Harris Grading sponsored Longhorn entry. Collins' victory also came on American Racer Tires.

Kenny Collins would take the lead at the drop of the green flag, with Carder Miller, David Payne, Ray Cook, and Billy Ogle, Jr. giving chase. The action would slow quickly though as Craig Greer and Brian Selby would tangle in turn one on lap 2. The restart would see Payne challenge Miller immediately for the second position, with Payne able to work past Miller for the position on lap 3. Meanwhile, Ogle, Jr. would challenge Cook for fourth position, but mechanical gremlins would strike Cook as he would slow on the backchute and stop in turn four to draw a caution flag on lap 4.

This restart would again see Collins motor away from the field, while Ogle, Jr. would challenge Miller for the third position, with Chicky Barton nipping at Ogle, Jr.’s heels from his fifth position. Collins would open up a 3.5 second advantage over Payne until Collins started working slower traffic on lap 12. As Collins got into heavy traffic on lap 16, Payne would begin to slowly close in on the race leader. But Collins would catch a break and get clear track once again after fifth place running Barton slowed on the frontchute on lap 19.

The final few circuits would see Collins continue his domination of the contest and only a pair of spins by Jeff Neubert on lap 28 and the lap 28 restart would slow his progress. Collins would see the checkered flag first, with Payne finishing second, while Miller would claim the final podium position with a third place run. Ogle, Jr. would claim the fourth position, while Benjy Shaw would outduel Sammie Russell in a very entertaining battle for the final spot in the top five. Trailing Russell in the second-five finishers at the finish would be Casey Turman, 16th starting Levi Ashby, Ruben Mayfield, and Cale Finley.

The next event for the Schaffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Series Super Late Models will be at Blue Ridge Motorsports Park in Blue Ridge, Ga. on Saturday May 6. The event will be 30 laps and pay $3,000 to win.

Schaffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Series Super Late Models
Event #2- I-75 Raceway (Sweetwater, TN)

Official A-Main Finish
1. Kenny Collins- Colbert, Ga.
2. David Payne- Murphy, N.C.
3. Carder Miller- Salem, Va.
4. Billy Ogle, Jr.- Knoxville, Tenn.
5. Benjy Shaw- Telico Plains, Tenn.
6. Sammie Russell- Madisonville, Tenn.
7. Casey Turman- Lafayette, Ga.
8. Levi Ashby- Cumberland Furnace, Tenn.
9. Ruben Mayfield- Lenoir City, Tenn.
10. Cale Finley- Athens, Ala.
11. Craig Greer- Cleveland, Tenn.
12. Jeff Neubert- Rockford, Tenn.
13. Chicky Barton- Middlesboro, Ky.
14. Joey Standridge- Telico Plains, Tenn.
15. Ray Cook- Brasstown, N.C.
16. Brian Selby- Walling, Tenn.

Margin of Victory- 1.304 seconds
Cautions- Five (Laps 2, 4, 19, 28, 28RS)
Time of Race- 20 minutes, 12 seconds
Top Qualifier- Kenny Collins-13.576 seconds

Current Series Points:
1. Billy Ogle Jr.-388
2. Carder Miller-368
3. Ray Cook-352
4. Levi Ashby-259
5. Craig Greer-253
6. Joey Standridge-247
7. Shanon Buckingham-200
7. Kenny Collins-200
9. David Payne-196
10. Justin Litchford-194