Josh Rice Blasts to Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Series Donald “Ducky” Jones Memorial Win at Wartburg Speedway

By Michael Despain, Series Publicist

WARTBURG, TENNESSEE (June 5, 2020)– The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by would visit Wartburg Speedway in Wartburg, TN for the Donald “Ducky” Jones Memorial on Friday evening and Josh Rice of Verona, KY would make his first-trip to Wartburg at memorable one as he would grab the lead in the late stages of the race and claim the $4,000 victory.

The win by Rice makes him the third different winner in three series events so far this season and it would be Rice’s first-career series victory and would come behind the wheel of the Sunesis Construction, Rice Brothers Racing sponsored #11 Rocket Chassis, Jay Dickens Race Engine powered entry.

The initial start of the race would draw the first of three caution flags for a multi-car tangle in turn four that would halt action getting started. The race would go green on the next attempted start and Victor Lee would take the lead of the race, followed by Dustin Linville, Skylar Marlar, Josh Putnam, and Ryan King. The second caution would wave on lap three when fifth-place starting Stacy Boles would spin his machine in turn two and pull pitside for the rest of the event. Lee would control the restart, with Marlar working past Linville for second and King getting by Putnam for fourth. Tenth place starting Josh Rice was already showing some muscle as he would take the fifth position away from Putnam on lap five. The final caution of the race appeared on lap six when Jamie Oliver slowed on the backchute. Lee again would control the restart, with Linville reclaiming the second position from Marlar, while Rice would work past King for the fourth position. Lee would open up a comfortable advantage until he would catch the rear of the field on lap nineteen. However, Lee could not advance past the backmarkers at this point and this allowed Linville and Marlar to close in on Lee, with Marlar and Linville racing side-by-side for several laps for the spot, with Rice and King joining the fray as well by lap twenty-eight. Lee would finally get back some of the slower traffic on lap thirty, while Rice would take third from Linville on lap 31 and King would shuffle Linville back to fourth on the same circuit. As Marlar pressured Lee for the lead, Rice would rip the highside of the track and the trio would race three-wide for the top spot on lap thirty-three, with Rice going from third to first on lap thirty-four. Rice would begin to pull away at this point as Marlar would also get by Lee on lap thirty-five, with King taking third from Lee on lap thirty-six. Rice would cruise the rest of the way to claim the victory, with Marlar finishing second and King taking third, while Lee and Linville would complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Kenny Collins, Jordan Rodabaugh, 17th place starting Michael Chilton, 18th place starting Ray Cook, and Putnam. 

The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by next event will be at I-75 Raceway in Sweetwater, TN on Saturday June 6, paying $4,000 to win and $400 to start. 

For more information concerning the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by, contact series promoter Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or (828) 361-5981 or by visiting the tour’s website at

2020 Schaeffer’s Oil iron-Man Late Model Series Sponsors include: Schaeffer’s Oil, Brucebilt Performance,, VP Race Fuels, American Race Tires, Graphic Impressions, Wiles Driveshafts, Knowles Race Parts & Bodies, Vic Hill Racing Engines, Earnhardt Technologies, Envy Suspension, Hoosier Racing Tire, E-Z-Go, Cruise with the Champions, Swafford Signs, and Speedway Videos Production.

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by at Wartburg Speedway in Wartburg, TN on June 5, 2020
1. Josh Rice-Verona, Ky.
2. Skylar Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
3. Ryan King-Seymour, Tenn.
4. Victor Lee-Danville, Ky.
5. Dustin Linville, Ky.
6. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
7. Jordan Rodabaugh-Soddy Daisy, Tenn.
8. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
9. Ray Cook-Brasstown, N.C.
10. Josh Putnam-Florence, Ala.
11. Jadon Frame-Winchester, Tenn.
12. John Ownbey-Cleveland, Tenn.
13. Jake Knowles-Rome, Ga.
14. Dakotah Knuckles-Ewing, Va.
15. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
16. Pearson Lee Williams-Dublin, Ga.
17. Joey Standridge-Tellico Plains, Tenn.
18. Drew Kennedy-Lancing, Tenn.
19. Eddie King, Jr.-Knoxville, Tenn.
20. Camaron Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
21. Jamie Oliver-Murphy, N.C.
22. Stacy Boles-Clinton, Tenn.
23. Anthony White-Clinton, Tenn.

Time of Race: 20 minutes, 11 seconds
Margin of Victory: 2.245 seconds
Yellow Flags: Three (lap 1, 3, 6)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Victor Lee 1-33, Josh Rice 34-40
Entries: 30
Overall Top Qualifier: Josh Putnam (Group A) 12.657 seconds
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($100): None
Highest Finishing All Steel/SPEC Engine ($100): Jordan Rodabaugh
Provisional Starters: David Payne, Joey Standridge, Dakotah Knuckles (emergency)

Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Josh Putnam, Stacy Boles, Eddie King, Jr., Jake Knowles, Anthony White, David Payne, Dan Tipton, Joey Standridge

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Skylar Marlar, Jordan Rodabaugh, Camaron Marlar, Drew Kennedy, Michael Chilton, Connor Meade, James Rice

Heat Three Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Victor Lee, Ryan King, Josh Rice, John Ownbey, David Webb, Perry Delaney, Glenn Vanover (DNS-Dakotah Knuckles)

Heat Four Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Dustin Linville, Kenny Collins, Jadon Frame, Jamie Oliver, Ray Cook, Craig Greer (DNS-Pearson Lee Williams)

B-Main One Finish (10 laps/top 2 transfer)- Michael Chilton, Anthony White, Connor Meade, David Payne, James Rice, Dan Tipton, Joey Standridge

B-Main Two Finish (10 laps/top 2 transfer)- Ray Cook, Pearson Lee Williams, Dakotah Knuckles, Craig Greer, Perry Delaney (DNS-David Webb, Glenn Vanover)

Current Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series Points (after 6/5/2020)
1. Michael Chilton-168
2. Ryan King-165
3. Pearson Lee Williams-140
4. Jake Knowles-137
5. David Payne-131 
6. Joey Standridge-125
7. Dakotah Knuckles-118
8. Skylar Marlar-108
9. Kyle Strickler-103
10. Kenny Collins-98
11. Dustin Linville-94
12. Camaron Marlar-89
13. Dale McDowell-88
14. David Crabtree-86
15. John Ownbey-81

2020 Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series Schedule/Results:
May 25-411 Motor Speedway-Seymour, TN (CORY HEDGECOCK)
May 30-Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, TN (DAVID PAYNE)
June 5-Wartburg Speedway-Wartburg, TN (JOSH RICE)
June 6-I-75 Raceway-Sweetwater, TN-$4,000 to win (40 laps)
June 13-Lake Cumberland Speedway-Burnside, KY-$3,000 to win (30 laps-non points)
June 19-Ponderosa Speedway-Junction City, KY-$4,000 to win (40 laps)
July 3-Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, TN-$5,000 to win (40 laps)
July 4-Volunteer Speedway-Bulls Gap, TN-$5,000 to win (40 laps)
August 7-Ponderosa Speedway-Junction City, KY-$4,000 to win (40 laps)
August 8-Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN-$5,000 to win (40 laps)
August 29-Lake Cumberland Speedway-Burnside, KY-$10,022 to win (50 laps)
September 6-Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, TN-$4,400 to win (44 laps)
October 2-Ponderosa Speedway-Junction City, KY-$4,000 to win (40 laps)
October 10-Lake Cumberland Speedway-Burnside, KY-$5,000 to win (40 laps)
November 28-411 Motor Speedway-Seymour, TN-$5,000 to win (40 laps)