Davenport Dandy in Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Series Pete Abell Memorial at Ponderosa Speedway

By Michael Despain

JUNCTION CITY, KENTUCKY (August 7, 2020)–The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by would kick off a twin bill of weekend racing action at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, KY on Friday evening with the 22nd Annual Pete Abell Memorial event and Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA would lead all forty laps of the event and claim a $4,000 payday in the process. 

Davenport’s victory would be his first career win with the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series and would come aboard the Lance Landers owned Longhorn Chassis, Cornett Race Engines powered entry that carries sponsorship from Nutrien Ag Solutions, ASC Warranty, Spartan Mowers, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas, Mark Martin Automotive, Lucas Oil, Midwest Sheet Metal, and VP Racing Fuel.    

Scott James and Jonathan Davenport would bring the field to the green flag, with Davenport jumping to the race lead, while Tanner English, James, Cameron Marlar, and Zack Dohm would give chase.  The lone caution of the event appeared on lap two for a three-car tangle involving Tommy Carlton, Glen Hounshell, Jr., and Joey Standridge, with all drivers able to continue.  Back underway, Davenport and English would quickly scoot away from the pack, with James holding down third, while sixth place running Jacob Hawkins would take fifth Dohm on lap four and fourth from Marlar on lap five, while Dohm would drive by Marlar for fifth on lap seven.  Meanwhile, Davenport and English continued to pull away from the field, with Davenport starting the process of working slower traffic on lap ten, allowing English to close in on the leader and English would actually pull alongside Davenport on a pair of occasions and the duo maneuvered in and out of traffic.  By the halfway mark, James was starting to reel in the front pair ever so slightly, while 12th place starting Michael Chilton had rim-rode his way around the top of the track to charge to sixth.  By lap thirty, Davenport was slowly pulling away from English with the lead, while James began showing signs of smoke and would exit the event with four laps remaining.  Davenport would go unchallenged the remainder of the way to score the victory, with English claiming second and Hawkins finishing in third.  Dohm and Chilton would complete the top five finishers.  The remainder of the top ten finishers for the event would be Marlar, Kody Evans, Ryan King, Justin Rattliff, and Hounshell, Jr. 

The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by next event will be Saturday August 8 at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, TN for the 16th Annual Iron-Man Classic, paying $5,000 to win.        

For more information on the Iron-Man Racing Series, call (606) 219-1723 or visit or click the CT Promotions or Iron Man Racing Series pages on Facebook.

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, KY on August 7, 2020
1. Jonathan Davenport-Blairsville, Ga.
2. Tanner English-Benton, Ky.
3. Jacob Hawkins-Fairmont, W.V.
4. Zack Dohm-Cross Lanes, WV.
5. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
6. Cameron Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
7. Kody Evans-Camdon, Ohio
8. Ryan King-Seymour, Tenn.
9. Justin Rattliff-Campbellsville, Ky.
10. Glen Hounshell, Jr.-Paint Lick, Ky.
11. Joey Standridge-Tellico Plains, Tenn.
12. Scott James-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
13. Dakotah Knuckles-Ewing, Va.
14. Larry Greer-Bowling Green, Ky.
15. Tommy Carlton-Lawrenceburg, Ky.
16. Mike Simpson-Cynthiana, Ky.
17. James Rice-Verona, Ky.
18. Clay Coghlan-Dandridge, Tenn.
19. P.J. Simpson-Cynthiana, Ky.
Did Not Start-Tripp Gerrald-Lexington, Ky.

Time of Race: N/A
Margin of Victory: N/A
Yellow Flags: One (lap 2)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Jonathan Davenport 1-40
Entries: 20
E-Z-GO Time Trials Top Qualifier: Tanner English (Group B) 12.280 seconds (new track record) 
Provisional Starters: None

VP Racing Fuels Makin’ Power Heat One Finish (10 laps/all transfer)- Scott James, Cameron Marlar, Dakotah Knuckles, Kody Evans, Ryan King, Justin Rattliff, Larry Greer, Glen Hounshell, Jr., P.J. Simpson, Clay Coghlan

VP Racing Fuels Makin’ Power Heat Two Finish (10 laps/all transfer)- Jonathan Davenport, Tanner English, Josh Rice, Zack Dohm, Jacob Hawkins, Michael Chilton, Tommy Carlton, Tripp Gerrald, Joey Standridge (DNS-Mike Simpson) 

Current Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series Points (after 8/7/2020)
1. Ryan King-409
2. Michael Chilton-384
3. Dakotah Knuckles-318
4. David Payne-306
5. Joey Standridge-300
6. Jake Knowles-270
7. Pearson Lee Williams-R-269
8. Cory Hedgecock-220
9. Donald McIntosh-204
10. David Crabtree-182

2020 Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series Schedule:
May 25-411 Motor (TN) Speedway-CORY HEDGECOCK
May 30-Tazewell (TN) Speedway-DAVID PAYNE
June 5-Wartburg (TN) Speedway-JOSH RICE
June 6-I-75 (TN) Raceway-HEATH HINDMAN
July 3-Tazewell (TN) Speedway-JASON TRAMMELL
July 4-Volunteer (TN) Speedway-CORY HEDGECOCK
August 7-Ponderosa (TN) Speedway-$4,000 to win-JONATHAN DAVENPORT
August 8-Smoky Mountain (TN) Speedway-$5,000 to win (Iron-Man Classic)
August 29-Lake Cumberland (KY) Speedway-$10,022 to win (Harold Hardgrove Memorial)
September 6-Tazewell (TN) Speedway-$4,400 to win (Buddy Rogers Memorial)
October 2-Ponderosa (KY) Speedway-$4,000 to win (Fall Classic)
October 10-Lake Cumberland (KY) Speedway-$5,000 to win (Lake Cumberland Classic)
November 28-411 Motor (TN) Speedway-$5,000 to win (The Leftover)