Portsmouth, OH (July 2, 2021) – Jonathan Davenport continued his Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series winning streak on Friday Night in the Independence 50 at Portsmouth Raceway Park.

With 36 laps in the books, Kyle Bronson moved past Tim McCreadie to hold on to the second position for the remainder of the race. McCreadie led the first eight laps, but came home in third followed by a first-time visitor to Portsmouth Raceway Park, Spencer Hughes. Tyler Erb rounded out the top five.

The current series Championship point leader, McCreadie, was looking to complete a perfect night with his first-ever win at Portsmouth. McCreadie led until Davenport, who started fourth, charged around him on the ninth lap to take over the lead. Davenport won over Bronson by 2.5 seconds to record his third Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win at Portsmouth Raceway Park.

“This old car has been really good this year, we have beat it to death. With these racetracks coming up on the schedule they each have a character of their own so that is why we saved the new one we had been running. This car ran as good as the new one.”

“This place wasn’t too bad from my view. I had my doubts when we first got here. But from where I was, it was perfect. I got up beside McCreadie there and I knew I had to get by him. He is such a smart racer that he would move down in that line, and it was going to be hard to get by him. I hope I left him enough room over there when I got by him.”

Bronson kept himself in the hunt for his first win of the season. “We were off a little tonight but to run second, we’ll take it. Our car has been really good the last couple of months. We are finally getting a good balance on it. Davenport and them Longhorn guys have been really good the last few months. We are close, we just have to do a little more and hopefully we can be outrunning them here soon.”

McCreadie will maintain the series point lead heading to Muskingum County Speedway on Saturday Night. “It’s consistent, it’s just not where we want to be. We just will try to work harder. Hats off to JD and Kyle and everybody that was out there. Hats off to the track.”

The winner’s Lance Landers Double L Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Nutrien Ag Solutions, ASC Warranty, Spartan Mowers. Fatheadz Eyewear, Lucas Oil Products, Bilstein Shocks, VP Fuels, and Midwest Sheet Metal.

Completing the top ten were Josh Richards, Jimmy Owens, Devin Moran, Jared Hawkins, and Ricky Thornton Jr.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series 
Race Summary 
Independence 50
Friday, July 2nd, 2021
Portsmouth Raceway Park – Portsmouth, OH

Allstar Performance Time Trials
Fast Time Group A: Jonathan Davenport / 15.026 seconds 
Fast Time Group B: Tim McCreadie / 14.867 seconds (overall)

Penske Race Shocks Heat Race #1 Finish (8 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): 1. 39-Tim McCreadie[1]; 2. 49-Jonathan Davenport[2]; 3. 66C-Matt Cosner[3]; 4. 20RT-Ricky Thornton Jr[7]; 5. 14-Josh Richards[8]; 6. 37-Jacob Hawkins[6]; 7. 71C-RJ Conley[5]; 8. 21K-Kirk Phillips[4]; 9. 33K-Kevin Wagner[9]

Summit Racing Equipment Heat Race #2 Finish (8 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): 1. 40B-Kyle Bronson[1]; 2. 20-Jimmy Owens[2]; 3. 81F-Brandon Fouts[5]; 4. 10-Nathon Loney[7]; 5. 1-Earl Pearson Jr[8]; 6. 4G-Kody Evans[6]; 7. 71-Hudson O'Neal[3]; 8. 17T-Shannon Thornsberry[4]

Simpson Race Products Heat Race #3 Finish (8 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): 1. 9-Devin Moran[2]; 2. 11H-Spencer Hughes[1]; 3. 1T-Tyler Erb[5]; 4. 157-Mike Marlar[4]; 5. 21H-Robby Hensley[7]; 6. 25-Shane Clanton[3]; 7. 11J-Jared Hawkins[6]; 8. 71R-Rod Conley[8]

Lucas Oil Feature Finish (50 Laps):

Race Statistics
Entrants: 25
Lap Leaders: Tim McCreadie (Laps 1 – 8), Jonathan Davenport (9 – 50)
Wrisco Feature Winner: Jonathan Davenport
Arizona Sport Shirts CJC – Presented by DirtOnDirt Feature Winner: n/a
Brandon Ford TV Challenge Feature Winner: n/a
Margin of Victory: 2.513 seconds
Stop Tech Brakes Cautions: Brandon Fouts (Lap 3); Shannon Thornsberry (Lap 12); Robby Hensley (Lap 13); Shane Clanton (Lap 29); Earl Pearson Jr (Lap 29); Mike Marlar (Lap 32)
Series Provisionals: n/a
Fast Time Provisional: n/a
Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Track Provisionals: n/a
Big River Steel Podium Top 3: Jonathan Davenport, Kyle Bronson, Tim McCreadie
Penske Shocks Top 5: Jonathan Davenport, Kyle Bronson, Tim McCreadie, Spencer Hughes, Tyler Erb
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Jared Hawkins (Advanced 12 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Tim McCreadie
Hot Rod Processing Most Laps Led: Jonathan Davenport (42 Laps)
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Tyler Erb
Eibach Springs Rookie of the Race: Ricky Thornton Jr
Dirty Girl Racewear Fastest Lap of the Race: Jonathan Davenport (Lap 6 – 15.279 seconds)
Fast Shafts Tough Break of the Race: Mike Marlar
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Jason Durham (Jonathan Davenport)
ARP Engine Builder of the Race: Cornett Racing Engines
Miller Welders Chassis Builder of the Race: Longhorn Chassis
Dirt Draft Fastest in Hot Laps: Kyle Bronson (14.891 seconds)
Time of Race: 32 minutes 20 seconds

Lucas Oil Championship Point Standings: