Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series Prepares for Stops at Farmer City and Fairbury May 10-11

SOMERSET, KY (May 5, 2019)—The Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series will invade Farmer City Raceway in Farmer City, Ill. on Friday May 10 and Fairbury Speedway in Fairbury, Ill. on May 11 to kick-off Mother’s Day weekend in style with a pair of back-to-back $10,000-to-win races.

On Friday May 10, the series will make it’s fifth-ever appearance to Farmer City Raceway racing 74 laps for $10,000-to-win and $500-to-start during the Farmer City 74 presented by Douglas Dodge. On Saturday May 11, the tour will invade Fairbury Speedway racing 50 laps for $10,000-to-win and $500-to-start during the Fifth Annual FALS Frenzy. This will mark the series’ fifth-ever appearance to the track affectionately known as “America’s Dirt Track”. Both events are co-sanctioned with the Sunoco American Late Model Series (ALMS).

Former MARS winners at Farmer City include: Billy Moyer (2016) and Shannon Babb (2017 & 2018) and Bobby Pierce (2017). Former MARS winners at Fairbury include: Bobby Pierce (2016), Dennis Erb Jr. (2017), Ryan Unzicker (2017) and Shannon Babb (2018).

In the first three point events of the season, Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill. and David Seibers of Petersburg, Tenn. claimed event victories at Clarksville Speedway and Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Ind. claimed the Brownstown Speedway payday on April 13. In the Sunoco ALMS, Rusty Schlenk of McClure, Ohio won the season opener at I-96 Speedway on April 26th over Logan Amtz, Brandon Thirlby, Travis Stemler and Chad Finley.

On Friday May 10 at Farmer City Raceway, the UMP Modifieds will also be racing for $2,000-to-win, the Crate Late Models will race for $1,000-to-win and Street Stocks will race for $300-to-win. The gates will open at 4:00 p.m. with hot laps scheduled for around 6:30 p.m. Adult general admission is $25.00 while adult pit passes are $40.00. The track will host an open practice on Thursday May 9 with the gates opening at 4:00 pm, grandstand admission being free for practice and $30.00 in the pits.

On Saturday May 11 at Fairbury Speedway, the UMP Modifieds will also be in action for $2,000-to-win and the UMP Sportsman will also race for $400-to-win. The gates will open at 12:00 p.m. with hot laps and qualifying slated for 5:45 p.m. and racing at 7:00 p.m. Adult general admission is $25.00 while adult pit passes are $40.00.

The tire rule for the events at Farmer City and Fairbury is: Hoosier LM 20 and LM30 on the right front, left front and left rear. The Hoosier LM30 and LM40 may be used as a right rear option only. Grooving and siping is allowed. The MARS Racing Series does take random tire samples throughout the season. The entry fee will be $100 at both events and the tow money for any car not making the field of 24 will be $100 per car at Farmer City and $160 per car at Fairbury.

Farmer City Raceway is located at 815 Grove Street in Farmer City, IL 61842. For more information, call (309) 928-9110 or log on to .

Fairbury Speedway is located at 600 S. 3rd Street in Fairbury, IL 61739. For more information, call (815) 692-3222 or log on to .

For more information on the Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series, please call (606) 219-1723 or (828) 361-5981 or log on to .

The Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series would like to thank the following 2019 Series Sponsors: Schaeffer’s Oil, VP Racing Fuels, Hoosier Tire Midwest, AR Bodies, Cruise with the Champions, Knowles Race Parts & Bodies,, Brucebilt Performance, Wiles Racing Driveshafts and Custom Suspension.

Farmer City and Fairbury Purse (74 laps Farmer City, 50 laps Fairbury): 1) $10,000, 2) $5,000, 3) $2,500, 4) $2,000, 5) $1,500, 6) $1,100, 7) $1,000, 8) $950, 9) $900, 10) $850, 11) $800, 12) $750, 13) $650, 14) $600, 15) $550, 16) $530, 17) $520, 18) $500, 19) $500, 20) $500, 21) $500, 22) $500, 23) $500, 24) $500.

Current MARS Racing Series Points (after April 13):
1. David Seibers-568
2. Dean Carpenter-556
3. Jose Parga-520
4. Brian Shirley-396
5. Allen Weisser-386
5. Josh Putnam-386
7. Dennis Erb Jr.-372
8. Mike Vandermark-368
8. Joseph Faulker-368
10. Robby Moses-356

2019 Series Winners/Upcoming MARS Racing Series Events:
March 1-Brian Shirley-Clarksville Speedway
March 2-David Seibers-Clarksville Speedway
April 13-Devin Gilpin-Brownstown Speedway
May 10-Farmer City Raceway-Farmer City, IL-$10,000 to win
May 11-Fairbury Speedway-Fairbury, IL-$10,000 to win