Robinson Rolls to Third Annual Schaeffer’s MARS Farmer City 74 at Farmer City Raceway

By Michael Despain

FARMER CITY, ILLINOIS – May 10, 2019 –The Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series and the Sunoco ALMS tour would co-sanction the Third Annual Farmer City 74 at Farmer City Raceway in Farmer City, IL and Kent Robinson would fend off a late race charge from Allen Weisser to see the checkered flag first to score the victory.

Robinson’s victory would be his third career Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series win and would aboard his JB’s Salvage, JB’s Disposal Service, Jones Oil, Midwest Sheet Metal, Keyser Manufacturing, VP Racing Fuel sponsored #7r MB Customs Race Car powered by a Jay Dickens Race Engine. 

Polesitter Kyle Bronson would take the early race lead and hold the top spot until Hudson O’Neal would take the top spot on lap twenty-three and would lead until the second of the four cautions in the event, as Kent Robinson would restart in the third position and roll past everyone to take the race lead on lap thirty six. Robinson and O’Neal would battle at time throughout the remainder of the event until the final caution waved on lap sixty-nine when O’Neal would make contact with the turn four outside retaining wall and end his night. The final restart would see Allen Weisser, who would inherit the second position due to O’Neal’s misfortune, challenge Robinson for the race lead and Weisser would take the lead from Robinson as the duo past the start/finish line with two laps remaining. However, Robinson would charge back around Weisser a half-lap later and retake the lead and hold off Weisser’s advances to claim the victory. Weisser would finish second, while eighteenth-place starting Darrell Lanigan would score the final podium finishing position by taking third. Devin Moran and Dennis Erb, Jr. would complete the top five finishers. The remainder of the top ten finishers at the completion of the Farmer City 74 would be Brandon Sheppard, Tyler Erb, Kyle Bronson (Erb and Bronson would both pit during cautions and make their way back into the top ten), Josh Richards, and Ashton Winger. 

The Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series next event will be Saturday May 11 at Fairbury Speedway in Fairbury, IL as the tour will sanction the track’s Fifth Annual FALS Frenzy, paying $10,000 to win. The event will be co-sanctioned with the Sunoco ALMS tour.  

Further information on the Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series can be obtained by calling Promoter/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website locate at

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series at Farmer City Raceway in Farmer City, IL on May 10, 2019
1. Kent Robinson-Bloomington, Ind.
2. Allen Weisser-East Peoria, Ill.
3. Darrell Lanigan-Union, Ky.
4. Devin Moran-Dresden, Ohio
5. Dennis Erb, Jr.-Carpentersville, Ill.
6. Brandon Sheppard-New Berlin, Ill.
7. Tyler Erb-New Waverly, Texas
8. Kyle Bronson-Brandon, Fla.
9. Josh Richards-Shinnston, W.V.
10. Ashton Winger-Senoia, Ga.
11. Chris Simpson-Oxford, Iowa
12. Mike Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
13. Frank Heckenast, Jr.-Frankfort, Ill.
14. Greg Johnson-Bedford, Ind.
15. David Seibers-Chapel Hill, Tenn.
16. Dean Carpenter-Coldwater, Miss.
17. Hudson O’Neal-Martinsville, Ind.
18. Myles Moos-Lincoln, Ill.
19. Mike Spatola-Manhattan, Ill.
20. Mason Zeigler-Chalk Hill, Pa.
21. Billy Moyer, Sr.-Batesville, Ark.
22. Brian Shirley-Chatham, Ill.
23. Scott James-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
24. Jose Parga-New Berlin, Ill.
25. Casey Noonan-Sylvania, Ohio
26. Scott Fisk-Saranac, Mich.

Time of Race: 38 minutes, 14 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.805 seconds
Yellow Flags: Four (Lap 34, 36, 42, 69)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Kyle Bronson (1-22), Hudson O’Neal (23-35), Kent Robinson (36-71, 73-74), Allen Weisser (72)
Entries: 52
Knowles Race Parts and Bodies Overall Top Qualifier: Kyle Bronson (Group A) 12.248  seconds
Provisional Starters: David Seibers (MARS), Dean Carpenter (MARS), Casey Noonan (ALMS), Scott Fisk (ALMS), Jose Parga (MARS Emergency)

Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 3 transfer)- Kyle Bronson, Devin Moran, Myles Moos, Kolby Vandenbergh, Ryan Unzicker, Billy Drake, Kevin Weaver, Jeff Herzog, Christian Hanger

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top 3 transfer)- Tyler Erb, Brian Shirley, Billy Moyer, Sr., Chris Simpson, Chase Junghans, Shannon Babb, Larry Greer, Dean Carpenter, Donny Walden

Heat Three Finish (10 laps/top 3 transfer)- Allen Weisser, Mason Zeigler, Josh Richards, Shanon Buckingham, Devin Gilpin, Chad White, Jason Playter, Jr. (DNS-Bob Gardner)  

Heat Four Finish (10 laps/top 3 transfer)- Hudson O’Neal, Scott James, Dennis Erb, Jr., Mike Spatola, Tanner English, Bobby Pierce, Kyle Strickler, Herb Reich, Michael Kloos

Heat Five Finish (10 laps/top 3 transfer)- Kent Robinson, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Don O’Neal, Greg Johnson, David Seibers, McKay Wenger, Scott Fisk, Billy Hough, Scott Schmitt

Heat Six Finish (10 laps/top 3 transfer)- Brandon Sheppard, Ashton Winger, Jason Feger, Mike Marlar, Darrell Lanigan, Jose Parga, Casey Noonan, Greg Wagner

B-Main One Finish (winner transfers)- Chris Simpson, Ryan Unzicker, Kevin Weaver, Shannon Babb, Kolby Vandenbergh, Chase Junghans, Jeff Herzog, Dean Carpenter, Christian Hanger, Larry Greer (DNS-Billy Drake, Donny Walden)

B-Main Two Finish (winner transfers)- Mike Spatola, Shanon Buckingham, Tanner English, Chad White, Kyle Strickler, Jason Playter, Jr., Herb Reich, Devin Gilpin, Michael Kloos, Bobby Pierce (DNS-Bob Gardner)

B-Main Three Finish (10 laps/winner transfers)- Mike Marlar, Don O’Neal, David Seibers, McKay Wenger, Casey Noonan, Scott Fisk, Scott Schmitt, Billy Hough, Greg Wagner, Jose Parga, Jason Feger