Miles Goes the Distance in Schaeffer’s MARS Super Late Model 5th Annual Born Free 40 at Brownstown Speedway

By Michael Despain

BROWNSTOWN, INDIANA (July 6, 2019)- The Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series would make their second appearance of the 2019 racing season at Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, IN for the 5th Annual Born Free 40 and Shelby Miles of Bloomington, IN would score the biggest win of his career and capture the $5,000 victory.

The win for Miles was his first-career Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series victory and would come behind the wheel of the Reed and Son Construction, Rock Solid Masonry, Bloomington South Salvage sponsored #76 Rocket Chassis, Jay Dickens Race Engines powered entry.    

The initial start would see a wild scramble that would see the caution wave before the first lap was completed for debris for the driveshaft from the Lee Williams entry. Once action began, Chad Stapleton would move to the early race lead, with Devin Gilpin, Austin Burns, Jason Jameson, and Zac Blackwood giving chase. Gilpin began to challenge for the lead on lap three and would pass Stapleton on lap four, only to see Stapleton return to the top spot on lap five. Jameson would work past Stapleton for second on lap eight and would mount charge on Gilpin and would be ahead of Gilpin at the line to complete lap eleven. Gilpin would charge back under Jameson on the next circuit and as the pair entered turn three, Jameson’s mount would slide over the bank in turn three and draw the caution. The restart would see Gilpin in front, but before the field would complete lap twelve, Gilpin’s entry would slow with mechanical issues and his night would be finished. Stapleton would inherit the lead and as the field came through to complete lap twelve this time, he and Shelby Miles would make contact in turn one, with the result being Stapleton stopped in the track. Fifth-place starting Miles would inherit the lead at this point as action would resume for a couple of more laps until the final caution of the race flew on lap fourteen when Austin Burns would stop just outside the turn four banking. Miles continued to lead as the field saw the halfway signal and it would be at this point that Dean Carpenter and Jackie Boggs would engage in an entertaining battle for the runner-up position that would see the drivers trade the spot multiple times. Meanwhile, Miles would slowly pull away from the field and 20th place starter Dustin Linville would charge his way to fourth and by lap thirty, Jameson had charged his way back from the rear of the field to the fifth spot. Carpenter would finally win the battle with Boggs for second and as the five-lap to go signal was shown, Carpenter began to reel in race leader Miles, but Miles would hold off the charges of Carpenter to score the victory, with Carpenter finishing second, and Boggs would come third. Linville and Jameson would round out the top five. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Brad Barrow, Chad Stapleton, David Seibers, Austin Burns, and Jason Milam.

The Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series next events will be Friday August 2 at Windy Hollow Speedway in Owensboro, KY, paying $5,000 to win, and Saturday August 3 at Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, IN, paying $10,000 to win the 15th Annual Hall of Fame Classic.  

For more information concerning the Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series, please call series promoter/race director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or (828) 361-5981 or log on to the series official webpage at .

The Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series would like to thank the following 2019 Series Sponsors: Schaeffer’s Oil, VP Racing Fuels, Hoosier Tire Midwest, AR Bodies, Cruise with the Champions, Knowles Race Parts & Bodies,, Brucebilt Performance, Wiles Racing Driveshafts and Custom Suspension.

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series at Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, IN on July 6, 2019
1. Shelby Miles-Bloomington, Ind.
2. Dean Carpenter-Coldwater, Miss.
3. Jackie Boggs-Grayson, Ky.
4. Dustin Linville-Bryantsville, Ky.
5. Jason Jameson-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
6. Brad Barrow-Bloomington, Ind.
7. Chad Stapleton-Edinburgh, Ind.
8. David Seibers-Chapel Hill, Tenn.
9. Austin Burns-Morgantown, Ind.
10. Jason Milam-Guntown, Miss.
11. Zack Burton-Edinburgh, Ind.
12. Wes Leigh-Linton, Ind.
13. Zac Blackwood-Columbus, Ind.
14. Karlie Holt-Orleans, Ind.
15. Steve Godsey-Bedford, Ind.
16. Devin Gilpin-Columbus, Ind.
17. David Webb-Nicholasville, Ky.
18. Jared Bailey-Bedford, Ind.
19. Dusty Chapman-Bedford, Ind.
20. Michael Seibers-Chapel Hill, Tenn.
21. Skyller Lewis-Brownstown, Ind.
22. Lee Williams-Haubstadt, Ind.

Time of Race: 23 minutes, 52 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.746 seconds
Yellow Flags: Five (lap 1, 12, 12 restart, 12 restart, 14)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Chad Stapleton 1-3, 5-6, 12; Devin Gilpin 4, 7-10; Jason Jameson 11; Shelby Miles 13-40
Entries: 22
Knowles Race Parts and Bodies Overall Top Qualifier: Austin Burns 13.752 seconds
Provisional Starters: None 

Heat One Finish (10 laps/all transfer)- Austin Burns, Devin Gilpin, David Webb, Jackie Boggs, Brad Barrow, Zack Burton, Karlie Holt (DNS-Dustin Linville)

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/all transfer)- Chad Stapleton, Shelby Miles, David Seibers, Jared Bailey, Skyller Lewis, Wes Leigh, Michael Seibers

Heat Three Finish (10 laps/all transfer)- Jason Jameson, Zac Blackwood, Dean Carpenter, Steve Godsey, Jason Milam, Dusty Chapman, Lee Williams

Current Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series Points (after 7/6/19):
1. David Seiobers-922
2. Dean Carpenter-920
3. Jose Parga-672
4. Allen Weisser-582
5. Dennis Erb Jr.-562
6. Brian Shirley-552
7. Myles Moos-492
8. Devin Gilpin-443
9. Christian Hanger-425
10. Josh Putman-386