David Seibers Crowned 2019 Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series Points Champion

SOMERSET, KY (September 21, 2019)—David Seibers of Chapel Hill, Tenn. claimed the 2019 Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series points title over Dean Carpenter of Coldwater, Miss. on Friday August 30 at Thunder Valley Raceway in Salem, Ind. after the tour finale.

Seibers started the season off at the first event by finishing fifth in the opening night of the Tuckasee Toilet Bowl Classic at Clarksville (Tenn.) Speedway then backed that up with a win worth $5,000 on night two of the annual event. Seibers would capture three top-five finishes in the nine events on the tour and capture five top-ten finishes.

Carpenter would rally to three top-five finishes in the nine points races and knock down five top-ten finishes. Carpenter’s best finish would come on July 6 at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway as he rolled to a second place finish behind Shelby Miles.

The points battle between David Seibers and Dean Carpenter would heat up after Brownstown Speedway on July 6 during the tour’s fifth event as Carpenter’s second place finish would put him within two points of Seibers. When the duo returned to Brownstown Speedway on August 3 for the Hall of Fame Classic, Carpenter’s 15th place finish and Seibers’ 16th place finish would allow Carpenter to capitalize and tie the points going into the final stretch of races. After a 16th place finish at Tri-City Speedway, Carpenter was down 14 markers heading into I-55 Raceway on the tour’s second to last event. At I-55 Raceway, Seibers would finish 11th and Carpenter would place 10th only putting 12 points between the two drivers heading into the finale at Thunder Valley Raceway, the wildcard so to speak as neither driver had raced at the tight bullring located in Southern Indiana. At Thunder Valley, Seibers would finish third in the feature event behind race winner Greg Johnson and second place finisher Devin Gilpin to secure the points title and Carpenter would finish fifth. Seibers’ margin of victory over Carpenter in the final points would be 14.

Nine different drivers took the checkered flag in nine races and five of those were first-time winners which included Seibers, Shelby Miles, Mike Marlar, Daryn Klein and Greg Johnson.

Seibers became the only seventh different champion in 20 seasons of the tour’s existence and picked up $3,000 for his efforts. Seibers joins an elite list of drivers who has claimed the series title including Terry Phillips (6 times), Billy Frye (5 times), Tony Jackson Jr. (5 times), Tanner English (2 times) along with single series titles going to Brad Looney and Jesse Stovall. Carpenter took home $2,000 for his second place position in the final points this season.

The average car count for the season in nine races was 27. There were 134 different drivers that raced in at least one MARS event. The highest car count of the season was 52 at Farmer City Raceway in Farmer City, Ill. on May 10 during the Farmer City 74 event. The Farmer City car count was not only the largest of the season but was also the second highest car count in the state of Illinois (second to the World of Outlaws-sanctioned Prairie Dirt Classic) and is the seventh highest car count the nation has seen all season long through the Knoxville Nationals weekend.

The Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series would like to thank each and every race track promoter and track staff, each race team and driver, the media who covered the events and the great race fans for their continues support.

Information regarding the 21st season of the Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series will be released in the coming months and information on the series can be found at .

The Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series would also like to thank the following 2019 Series Sponsors: Schaeffer’s Oil, VP Racing Fuels, Hoosier Tire Midwest, AR Bodies, Cruise with the Champions, Knowles Race Parts & Bodies,, Brucebilt Performance, Wiles Racing Driveshafts and Custom Suspension.

FINAL 2019 Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series Points
1. David Seibers-1,644
2. Dean Carpenter-1,628
3. Brian Shirley-904
4. Devin Gilpin-821
5. Greg Johnson-758
6. Shelby Miles-738
7. Steve Godsey-678
8. Jose Parga-672
9. Allen Weisser-582
10. Dennis Erb Jr.-562

2019 Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series Winners:
March 1-Clarksville Speedway-Brian Shirley
March 2-Clarksville Speedway-David Seibers
April 13-Brownstown Speedway-Devin Gilpin
May 10-Farmer City Raceway-Kent Robinson
July 6-Brownstown Speedway-Shelby Miles
August 3-Brownstown Speedway-Mike Marlar
August 16-Tri-City Speedway-Daryn Klein
August 17-Federated Auto Parts Raceway @ I-55-Bobby Pierce
August 30-Thunder Valley Raceway-Greg Johnson