(WOODSTOCK, GEORGIA) – The previous event for the 2017 NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Models Series was a special history maker being co-spotlighted alongside the Chevrolet Performance Super Late Models Series at the famed Dixie Speedway in its 48th consecutive season. The event featured for the NeSmith fans in attendance a spectacular show by the best pro late model drivers on dirt in the country. When the dust settled defending NeSmith Dirt Late Model Series National Champion Cory Hedgecock from Loudon, TN parked it in victory lane on a humid evening in Georgia.  

The 50 lap $2500 to win feature highlighted a great performance by Hedgecock saw numerous caution flag periods with solo spins, a few multi car incidents and flat tires. The highlight of the A-Main was the lap 9 battle for second when #A19 Ronnie Johnson tangled with #J0 of John Ownbey battling on the frontstretch into turn one. It was decided Owenby was at fault for the yellow and Johnson was able to hold his position where he would finish in the race.

Another notable mention was the young lady #23 Ahnna Parkhurst who started 22nd at the green was able to finish in the 11th spot to claim the Beyea Headers Hard Charger of the Race Award. #66 Jake Knowles, #D2 Todd Morrow and #11 Cruz Skinner rounded out the top five finish.

However, no one could catch the #23 of Cory Hedgecock as he would go on to win and sweep the weekend claiming the Chevrolet Performance Super Late Model Series feature as well cashing in a $5,500 payday in one night.  

OFFICIAL RACE RESULTS – 1st #23 Cory Hedgecock, 2nd #A19 Ronnie Johnson, 3rd #66 Jake Knowles, 4th #D2 Todd Morrow, 5th #11 Cruz Skinner, 6th #14lp Logan Palmer, 7th #17 Matt Henderson, 8th #10 Matthew Turner, 9th #00 Matt Black, 10th #11 Bobby Richey Jr., 11th #23 Ahnna Parkhurst, 12th #1 Grant Garrison, 13th #18e Chase Edge, 14th #57 Shep Lucas, 15th #1p Andy Picklesimer, 16th #05 TJ Brittain, 17th #19 Marcus Minga, 18th #95 Brandon Williams, 19th #J0 John Ownbey, 20th #7 Tom Maddox, 21st #87 Jake Rainey, 22nd #F1 Payton Freeman, 23rd #92 Rodney Martin, 24th #56jr Colton Horner

The next stop for the 2017 tour for the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series is Friday June 9th at I-75 Raceway in Sweetwater, TN and then Saturday June 10th at 411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, TN for the $4000 to win JT Kerr Memorial.   

For more information about the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series, visit the series website at www.nesmithracing.com.

You can also follow the series by Liking the Facebook page at NeSmith Racing

Follow us on Twitter @NeSmithRacing and Instagram @nesmithracing.

NeSmith Chevrolet, Buick, GMC is the Official Title Sponsor of the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series. Chevrolet Performance is an Official Sponsor of the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series.

Hoosier Racing Tire is the Official Tire of the NeSmith Dirt Late Model Series. Sunoco Race Fuels is the Official Race Fuel of the Series. Knowles Race Parts and Bodies is the Official Parts Supplier of the Series. Cruise with the Champions is the Official Vacation and Rookie of the Year Sponsor for the Series.

RockAuto.com is an Associate Sponsor of the Series and Official Sponsor of the RockAuto.com Winter Shootout Series. David Smith Carburetors is the Official Carburetor of NeSmith Racing.

Contingency Sponsors Include: Out-Pace Performance, AR Bodies, Crate Insider.com, Gresham Racing Parts, Knowles Racing Parts and Bodies, and FreeStyle Graphix.

Chassis Sponsors are Trak-Star Race Cars, Warrior Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, GRT Race Cars, and CVR Race Cars.