EASTABOGA, AL – Dylan Knowles of Lanett, AL earned the pole position for Sunday’s 30th Annual Ice B owl at Talladega Short Track for the Newsome Raceway Parts Crate Racin’ USA Dirt Late Model Series. The $3,000-to-win Ice Bowl is the opening race for the CRUSA 6th Annual Winter Shootout Series.

            Knowles drove the K-Line Logistics Rocket to fast time honors among the 49 entrants in Boyd Built Fabricators Group Qualifying with a lap around the 1/3-mile Talladega Short Track clay oval in 14.774 seconds, and then won the first ten-lap KRC Power Steering Heat Race on Saturday night to earn the inside front row starting spot for Sunday’s Big Show.

Jason Welshan of Maryville, TN took a heat race win and starts the Competition Race Equipment Special on the outside of the front row. Eli Beets of Knoxville, TN took a heat race win and starts the Beets Racing Special on the inside of row two. 

The 2019 Newsome Raceway Parts Crate Racin’ USA Dirt Late Model Series National Champion Jake Knowles of Rome, GA won his heat race to earn the outside second row starting spot in the Knowles Race Parts and Bodies Special. The top four finishes in each heat race made up the first 16 starters for the Ice Bowl main event.

Cody Overton of Evans, GA in the Budweiser Special, Tanner Collins of Franklin, GA in the Newnan Bonding Rocket, and Cruz Skinner of Oxford, AL in the Skinner’s Body Shop Rocket followed Dylan Knowles into the Big Show out of the first heat race. 

Jadon Frame of Decherd, TN in the Frame Racing Special, Buddy George of Ragland, AL in the George Racing Special, and Ahnna Parkhurst of Evans, GA in the E-Z-GO Special followed Welshan out of the fourth heat race into the main event.

Blant Duke of Carrollton, GA in the Duke Racing Rocket, Chase Walls of Decherd, TN in the Powers Machine Special, and Sterling Freeman of Pell City, AL in the Freeman Racing Special finished second through fourth respectively in the second heat race to earn starting spots in the Feature Race. 

The second through fourth-place drivers respectively in the third heat race to transfer into the Ice Bowl main event were Jake Traylor of LaGrange, GA in the Traylor Racing Special, the defending Ice Bowl Champion and two-time Winter Shootout Champion Jimmy Elliott of Cleveland, TN in the Car Smart Auto Sales Special, and Donald Johns of Summertown, TN in the Johns Farms Special.

The top four finishers from a pair of 12-lap KRC Power Steering B-Main Races on Sunday will fill in the 17th through 24th starting spot for the 30th Annual Ice Bowl main event. On Sunday, the gates at Talladega Short Track open at 8 a.m., with the Driver’s Meeting set for 11:30 a.m., and racing is scheduled for 12 noon.

              The economical Aluminum Head, Steel Block, Chevrolet Performance 604 Circle Track Engine is the engine of choice for the Newsome Raceway Parts Crate Racin’ USA Dirt Late Model Series competitors. The Chevrolet Performance 604 Engine is in stock and available for free next day delivery from Newsome Raceway Parts in Hartsville, SC. 

            Newsome Raceway Parts gives a portion of the sales from each Chevrolet Performance Circle Track Engine sold back to the Crate Racin’ USA Point Funds in four different Divisions. Each economical Chevrolet Performance Circle Track Engine is built and sealed at the factory to prevent any expensive modifications. To place an order call 1-877-497-3624.

For more information and rules about the Newsome Raceway Parts Crate Racin’ USA Dirt Late Model Series, visit the series web site at www.crateracinusa.com, or visit the series on Facebook at www.facebook.com/CrateRacinUSA/.  You can follow us on Twitter @CrateRacinUSALM, and at Instagram at crateracinusa.


KRC POWER STEERING HEAT RACES (10 Laps – Top 4 Transfer To Main Event):

              HEAT 1: 1. D. Knowles; 2. Overton; 3. Collins; 4. C. Skinner; 5. Hickman; 6. Jo. Knowles; 7. Wood; 8. Bry. Mitchell; 9. Lively; 10. Bra. Mitchell; 11. Ma. Fulford; 12. Womack; 13. Adkins DNS.

              HEAT 2: 1. Beets; 2. Duke; 3. Walls; 4. Freeman; 5. Brittain; 6. Ray; 7. Doster; 8. Burdett; 9. Smith; 10. Roberts; 11. Nelms; 12. Mi. Fulford DNS.

              HEAT 3: 1. Ja. Knowles; 2. Traylor; 3. Elliott; 4. D. Johns; 5. Smartt; 6. Cline; 7. Cummings; 8. Thomas; 9. Turner; 10. Mayfield; 11. Culver; 12. Hale.

              HEAT 4: 1. Welshan; 2. Frame; 3. George; 4. Parkhurst; 5. M. Skinner; 6. Kennedy; 7. O. Johns; 8. Ellis; 9. Holder; 10. Bargo; 11. Farmer; 12. Mullinax.


ROW 1:
66k Dylan Knowles – 01w Jason Welshan
ROW 2:
109 Eli Beets – 66 Jake Knowles
ROW 3:
97 Cody Overton – J8 Jadon Frame
ROW 4:
01 Blant Duke – 42 Jake Traylor
ROW 5:
24 Tanner Collins – 29 Buddy George
ROW 6:
22 Chase Walls – 13 Jimmy Elliott
ROW 7:
11 Cruz Skinner – 23 Ahnna Parkhurst
ROW 8:
s53 Sterling Freeman – C66 Donald Johns

KRC POWER STEERING B-MAIN LINE-UPS (12 Laps – Top 4 Transfer To Main Event):

R1 Riley Hickman – 00m Monte Skinner
66j Jody Knowles – K37 Drew Kennedy 
17jr Tyler Wood – C6 Oakley Johns
46 Bryson Mitchell - 1 Ty Ellis
21 Jason Lively – 44h Randy Holder
64 Braden Mitchell – 317 Mike Bargo
15jr Marvin Fulford – F97 Red Farmer
GB9 Brian Womack – 3 Maddux Mullinax
57 Josh Atkins

05 T.J. Brittain – C4 Cole Smartt
2 Adam Ray – 44 Curtis Cline
104 Daniel Doster – 2c Adam Cummings
B97 Lee Burdett – 15t Brandon Thomas
7s Brian Smith – 14jr Victor Turner Jr.
50 Ty Roberts – 00 Ruben Mayfield
444 McKeynna Nelms – 40 David Culver
6f Mitch Fulford – 8 Kevin Hale


Newsome Raceway Parts, a Division of Raceway Chevrolet in Hartsville, SC, is the Title Sponsor of Crate Racin’ USA. Chevrolet Performance Parts is an Official Sponsor of Crate Racin’ USA. Hoosier Racing Tire is the Official Tire Sponsor of Crate Racin’ USA. VP Racing Fuel is the Official Race Fuel and Lubricant of Crate Racin’ USA. Knowles Race Parts and Bodies is the Official Parts Supplier for Crate Racin’ USA. Willy’s Carburetors is the Official Carburetor of Crate Racin’ USA. Fullmoon Graphics is the Official Wrap, Banner, and Sign Company of Crate Racin’ USA. E-Z-GO Golf Carts is an Associate Sponsor of Crate Racin’ USA. Crate Racin’ USA 2021 Chassis Sponsors are Warrior Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, GRT Race Cars, and CVR Race Cars.