Belleville, IL. (9/18/21) Finalizing the weekend of racing at Lucas Oil Speedway for Championship Night of the 11th Annual Jesse Hockett/Daniel McMillin Memorial, a determined field of fifty-eight eager Lucas Oil POWRi Wingless Auto Racing Sprint League drivers would invade Wheatland Missouri with open-wheel action abundant. 

Early racing action would see Colten Cottle, Casey Shuman, Quinton Benson, and Jason Howell all claim semi-feature victories, with the top eight from the previous two nights accumulated points automatically locked into the main event. Rookie of the year Xavier Doney would claim the event’s high-point accolade earning the 30-lap feature’s pole starting position with series champion Mario Clouser lined up directly to his outside. 

Green-flag feature racing would find fifteen-year-old Xavier Doney shooting out to the early advantage by leading the first six laps until Mario Clouser grabbed the lead after an early race restart.

An onslaught on elbows by racing for positions would ensue behind the leading Clouser as Doney, Wesley Smith, Jack Wagner, and Kory Schudy would all share time in running inside the podium. Clouser would continue to lead with the laps ticking away quickly until lap twenty-eight of the thirty-lap main event when Wesley Smith would hook up on the high-side.

Running the rim on the smooth as glass Lucas Oil Speedway Wesley Smith would cruise past the leading Clouser and survive the ambush of attempts for the lead to claim his fifth win of the season with POWRi WAR.

“This is our Chili Bowl for sprints, I can’t begin to tell you how much this means to me and our whole team. This is the event I wanted to win since I started racing” said the winning Wesley Smith about winning the 11th Annual Jesse Hockett/Daniel McMillin Memorial with POWRI WAR.
Xavier Doney continues to impress by wrapping up his award-winning rookie campaign finishing runner-up with Jack Wagner on a mission behind the wheel placing third. One-time leader Clouser would slip to finish fourth and clinch the 2021 Lucas Oil POWRi WAR Sprint League Season Championship as Kory Schudy rounded out the top-five finishers at Lucas Oil Speedway’s Championship Night of the 11th Annual Jesse Hockett/Daniel McMillin Memorial. 

Hoosier Racing Tire Top Hot Lap Time: 24X – Casey Shuman(14.737)
Super Clean Semi-Feature 1 Winner: 5C – Colten Cottle
Super Clean Semi-Feature 2 Winner: 24X – Casey Shuman
Super Clean Semi-Feature 3 Winner: 15B – Quinton Benson
Super Clean Semi-Feature 4 Winner: 44H – Jason Howell
Toyota Racing Development Hard Charger: 73 – Samuel Wagner (+9)
Lucas Oil Feature Winner: 44 – Wesley Smith

Lucas Oil POWRi WAR Feature Results at Lucas Oil Speedway on September 18th, 2021:
1. 44-Wesley Smith[3]; 2. 74-Xavier Doney[1]; 3. 77-Jack Wagner[6]; 4. 6-Mario Clouser[2]; 5. 28-Kory Schudy[4]; 6. 1#-Justin Zimmerman[8]; 7. 20G-Noah Gass[14]; 8. 5D-Zach Daum[5]; 9. 24X-Casey Shuman[10]; 10. 5C-Colten Cottle[9]; 11. 15B-Quinton Benson[11]; 12. 24-Landon Simon[17]; 13. 91-Riley Kreisel[13]; 14. 21-Caleb Stelzig[21]; 15. 73-Samuel Wagner[24]; 16. 36-Tyler Edwards[20]; 17. 51B-Joe B Miller[19]; 18. 44H-Jason Howell[12]; 19. 16-Anthony Nicholson[16]; 20. 41-Brad Wyatt[25]; 21. 79X-Keith Martin[18]; 22. 29T-Ryan Timmons[23]; 23. 11W-Wyatt Burks[7]; 24. 89-Todd McVay[15]; 25. 1-Paul White[22].

Super Clean B-Feature 1: 1. 5C-Colten Cottle[1]; 2. 91-Riley Kreisel[2]; 3. 24-Landon Simon[13]; 4. 21-Caleb Stelzig[11]; 5. 77K-Katlynn Leer[14]; 6. 13-Chase Howard[9]; 7. 79-Tim Kent[10]; 8. 27-Steve Thomas[4]; 9. 11-Justin Melton[5]; 10. 9-Cody Baker[3]; 11. (DNF) 93-Taylor Walton[7]; 12. (DNF) 21X-Michelle Parson[6]; 13. (DNS) 27M-Evan Mosley; 14. (DNS) 55L-Casey Lewallen.

Super Clean B-Feature 2: 1. 24X-Casey Shuman[1]; 2. 20G-Noah Gass[3]; 3. 79X-Keith Martin[2]; 4. 1-Paul White[4]; 5. 20-Shon Deskins[6]; 6. 41-Brad Wyatt[7]; 7. 69-Zach Sanders[10]; 8. 26-Zach Clark[9]; 9. 52-JD Fry[11]; 10. 17K-Braden Knipmeyer[5]; 11. 45-Jesse Bebee[12]; 12. (DNS) 51-Mitchell Moore; 13. (DNS) 82-Vinny Ward.

Super Clean B-Feature 3: 1. 15B-Quinton Benson[3]; 2. 89-Todd McVay[6]; 3. 51B-Joe B Miller[1]; 4. 29T-Ryan Timmons[5]; 5. 24LCR-Chris Morgan[2]; 6. 11X-Tom Curran[4]; 7. 7S-Wade Seiler[8]; 8. 2-Kyle Lewis[10]; 9. 45X-Adam Wilfong[11]; 10. 33L-Mark Lane[12]; 11. (DNF) 37-Brian Beebe[9]; 12. (DNF) 77X-Colt Treharn[7]; 13. (DNF) 7R-JD Black[13].

Super Clean B-Feature 4: 1. 44H-Jason Howell[4]; 2. 16-Anthony Nicholson[3]; 3. 36-Tyler Edwards[6]; 4. 73-Samuel Wagner[12]; 5. 5-Jesse Vermillion[2]; 6. 09-Robby McQuinn[10]; 7. 73V-Blake Vermillion[7]; 8. 90-Warren Johnson[9]; 9. 7JR-Robert Black[13]; 10. (DNF) 2H-Luke Howard[5]; 11. (DNF) 36T-Trey Robb[1]; 12. (DNF) 66M-Max Grogan[11]; 13. (DNS) 57-Chase Parson.

Can’t make it out to the track and don’t want to miss any of the action in the racing program? Subscribe today at MAVTV Plus to catch all the action LIVE and ON-DEMAND. From both live and archived race events to automotive restoration shows, provides nothing but the best motorsports content.

Follow along for more information on POWRi and items such as race recaps, updates, full results, and press releases online at, or on Twitter & Instagram at @POWRi_Racing and Facebook at POWRi. POWRi League rules, contingencies, forms, and payouts can be found under the info tab at the top of the POWRi website.