Ashton Winger Aces Crossville Speedway Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series Action

By Michael Despain
CROSSVILLE, TENNESSEE (June 28, 2019– The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by would visit Crossville Speedway in Crossville, TN on Friday evening and Ashton Winger of Senoia, GA would find his way to victory lane and score the $3,000 payday after grabbing the race lead from Michael Chilton just prior to the halfway point in the forty-lap contest.

The victory for Winger was his first-career Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by and would come aboard the E-Z GO, Keyser Manufacturing, GW Performance, Johnny Doan Plumbing, Integra Racing Shocks, Spring Pro, Turkey Creek Snacks, The Realty Queen and Team sponsored #12 Rocket Chassis, Clements Race Engines powered mount. 

Michael Chilton would grab the race lead at the start of the event, with Donald McIntosh giving chase, followed by Ashton Winger. The lead pair of Chilton and McIntosh would pull away a bit from third-place Winger in the early stages of the race and would start working slower traffic on lap seven. The lead pair would lap three slower cars and would get clear track for the moment until the first caution waved on lap fourteen for a slowed Jeff Watson due to overheating issues at the top of turn four. The restart would see Winger dive to the bottom in turn one and execute a slidejob on Chilton and McIntosh, but Chilton would get back around Winger as the field entered turn three, only to see the caution appear again for a spun Brad Skinner at the bottom of the track at the entrance to turn three. Chilton would maintain the lead on this restart, while Winger would grab second from McIntosh, while Cory Hedgecock would take fourth, shuffling David Earl Gentry back to fifth. The final caution would appear on lap seventeen when Craig Greer and Casey Turman would tangle in turn three. 

Winger would get a good run at Chilton on the restart and would fire a slider at Chilton in turn one and take the race lead exiting turn two, while Hedgecock would get by Chilton and McIntosh to take the second position. Winger would open his lead up over Hedgecock until he started working slower traffic on lap twenty-six, but the Peach State native would work traffic to perfection in the final dozen laps and claim the victory. Hedgecock would finish second, while Chilton would outduel McIntosh for the third position, while Connor Meade would round out the top five. The remainder of the top ten would be Robby Moses, Riley Hickman, David Earl Gentry, David Brannon, and Joey Standridge.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by next event will be Saturday June 29 at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, TN, paying $3,000 to win. 

The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by would like to thank the following sponsors and marketing partners for their continued support: American Racer Tires, AR Bodies, Brucebilt Performance, Cruise with the Champions, Custom Suspensions,, Knowles Race Parts and Bodies, Schaeffer’s Oil, Speedway Video Productions, VP Race Fuel, and Wiles Driveshafts.

Further information on the Schaeffer’s Oil Championship Late Model Series presented by can be obtained by calling promoter/race director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by at Crossville Speedway in Crossville, TN on June 28, 2019
1. Ashton Winger-Senoia, Ga.
2. Cory Hedgecock-Loudon, Tenn.
3. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
4. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
5. Connor Meade-Clay City, Ky.
6. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
7. Riley Hickman-Ooltewah, Tenn.
8. David Earl Gentry-Murfreesboro, Tenn.
9. David Brannon-Elora, Tenn.
10. Joey Standridge-Tellico Plains, Tenn.
11. Brad Skinner-Spring Hill, Tenn.
12. David Doherty-Sydney, Australia
13. Joseph Faulkner-Fayetteville, Tenn.
14. Doug Smith-Harriman, Tenn.
15. Craig Greer-Cleveland, Tenn.
16. Patrick Duggan-Lenoir City, Tenn.
17. Casey Turman-Lafayette, Ga.
18. Jeff Watson-Campbellsville, Ky.
19. Eddie Brown-Crossville, Tenn.

Time of Race: 20 minutes, 7 seconds 
Margin of Victory: 3.849 seconds
Yellow Flags: Three (lap 14, 14 restart, 17)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Michael Chilton 1-16, Ashton Winger 17-40
Entries: 19
Overall Top Qualifier: Donald McIntosh (Group A) 12.603 seconds
Highest Finishing All Steel ($200): Doug Smith
Provisional Starters: None

Current Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series Points (as of 6/28/19)
1. Robby Moses-920
2. Joseph Faulkner-888
3. Joey Standridge-854
4. Casey Turman-814
5. Michael Chilton-465
6. Brian Shirley-396
7. David Seibers-390
8. Allen Weisser-386
8. Josh Putnam-386
10. Dennis Erb, Jr.-372