McDowell Masters 411 Motor Speedway for Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Victory

By Michael Despain

SEYMOUR, TENNESSEE (July 26, 2019)– The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels would visit 411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, TN on Friday evening and Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA would lead all fifty-three laps on his way to the victory and the $10,000 payday. McDowell became the sixth different winner in eight series events contested to this point in the season and the race marked the first-ever caution free fifty-three lap event in tour history.

McDowell’s victory was his fourth career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels victory. McDowell’s winning mount is a Sweet-Bloomquist Race Car powered by a Clements Race Engine and carries sponsorship from E-Z GO, New Era Industrial, Kinzer Drilling Company, Quality Natural Gas, Cometic Gaskets, Klotz Lubricants, Will Kinzer Foundation for Autism Research, and Spring Pro. 

Dale McDowell would take the lead at the start of the fifty-three-lap contest that would run caution-free, with Brandon Overton, Donald McIntosh, Ryan King, and Dakotah Knuckles giving chase. The front-five would remain the same as McDowell would start lapping slower traffic on lap nine and would get into heavy traffic by lap fourteen, allowing Overton to close the distance between himself and McDowell. With the lead duo working in and out of slower traffic, Cory Hedgecock would take fourth from Ryan King on lap twenty-one and three circuits later, Kyle Strickler would claim the fifth position. McDowell and Overton would continue their march through slower traffic up front, while Strickler would score the fourth position away from Hedgecock on lap thirty-one. Meanwhile, 12th place starter Ross Bailes would slice his way toward the front as he would take the fifth position on lap thirty-three. The final twenty circuits would see McDowell be dogged by Overton for the top spot, with Overton looking under McDowell on several occasions for the lead, but would be unable to make the pass. The final three laps would see Overton continue to challenge McDowell for the lead, however, McDowell would see the checkered flag first, with Overton settling for second, while McIntosh would come home in the third position. Strickler and Bailes would round out the top five finishers. Sixth through tenth positions at the finish would fall to Michael Chilton, Hedgecock, King, Jason Jameson, and Tanner English.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuels concludes with the series finale on Saturday July 27 at Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, TN on Saturday July 27, paying $10,053 to win.    

Further information about the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuels can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Public Relations Director Chris Tilley at (828) 361-5981 or (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official series website located at

The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuels would like to thank the following sponsors and marketing partners: Schaeffer’s Oil, Sunoco Race Fuels,, American Racer Tires, AR Bodies, Arizona Sport Shirts, Barry Wright Race Cars, Capital Race Cars, Chizmark and Larson Insurance Agency, Collins Signs,, Delph Communications,, Earnhardt Technologies Group, EZ-GO, FK Rod Ends, Hoosier Racing Tire, Keyser Manufacturing, MasterSbilt Race Cars,, Wiles Driveshafts, Vic Hill Race Engines, and VP Racing Fuels. 

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuels at 411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, TN on July 26, 2019
1. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, Ga.
2. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
3. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
4. Kyle Strickler-Mooresville, N.C.
5. Ross Bailes-Clover, S.C.
6. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
7. Cory Hedgecock-Loudon, Tenn.
8. Ryan King-Seymour, Tenn.
9. Jason Jameson-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
10. Tanner English-Benton, Ky.
11. Cla Knight-North Augusta, S.C.
12. Dakotah Knuckles-Ewing, Va.
13. Vic Hill-Mosheim, Tenn.
14. Aaron Ridley-Chatsworth, Ga.
15. Jake Knowles-Rome, Ga.
16. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
17. Tyler Clem-Ocala, Fla.
18. Mack McCarter-Gatlinsburg, Tenn.
19. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
20. John Ownbey-Cleveland, Tenn.
21. Cameron Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
22. Craig Greer-Cleveland, Tenn.

Time of Race: 13 minutes, 56 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.417 seconds
Yellow Flags: None
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Dale McDowell 1-53
Entries: 30
Overall Top Qualifier: Brandon Overton (Group B) 13.762 seconds
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel Head/SPEC Engine ($200): None
Provisional Starters: Craig Greer, David Payne

Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Dale McDowell, Jason Jameson, Cla Knight, Jake Knowles, Cameron Marlar, Brandon Kinzer, Craig Greer, Jackie Boggs

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Donald McIntosh, Michael Chilton, Tanner English, Aaron Ridley, Mack McCarter, David Crabtree, Walker Arthur

Heat Three Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Brandon Overton, Dakotah Knuckles, Cory Hedgecock, Vic Hill, John Ownbey, Eric Webber (DNS-Benji Hicks, Bobby Giffin)

Heat Four Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Ryan King, Kyle Strickler, Ross Bailes, Tyler Clem, Kenny Collins, Craig Greer (DNS-David Payne)

B-Main Finish (12 laps, top 4 transfer)- John Ownbey, Cameron Marlar, Kenny Collins, Mack McCarter, David Crabtree, Jackie Boggs, Brandon Kinzer, Benji Hicks, Walker Arthur, Dusty Carver, Eric Webber, Craig Greer (DNS-David Payne, Bobby Giffin)

Current Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Points (after 7/26/19)
1. Brandon Overton-1,510
2. Jake Knowles-1,506
3. Donald McIntosh-1,480
4. Tanner English-1,460
5. Cla Knight-1,428
6. Tyler Clem-931
7. Aaron Ridley-826
8. Craig Greer-822
9. Michael Chilton-772
10. Ross Bailes-734

2019 Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Schedule/Results
July 13-Wythe Raceway-Rural Retreat, VA-$10,000 to win-Brandon Overton
July 14-Cherokee Speedway-Gaffney, SC-$10,000 to win-Trent Ivey
July 16-Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN-$3,500 to win-Brandon Overton
July 18-Toccoa Raceway-Toccoa, GA-$3,500 to win-Rainout
July 19-Senoia Raceway-Senoia, GA-$5,025 to win-Rainout
July 20-Screven Motor Speedway-Sylvania, GA-$10,000 to win-Ross Bailes
July 21-Rome Speedway-Rome, GA-$5,300 to win-Austin Horton
July 23-Tri County Race Track-Brasstown, NC-$3,500 to win-Jake Knowles
July 25-Crossville Speedway-Crossville, TN-$3,500 to win-Brandon Overton
July 26-411 Motor Speedway-Seymour, TN-10,000 to win-Dale McDowell
July 27-Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, TN-$10,053 to win