Brandon Overton Claims Pair of Firsts During Southern Nationals Gobbler at Boyd’s Speedway

Contact: Chris Tilley
Southern Nationals Bonus Series P.R. Coordinator
606-219-1723 |

RINGGOLD, Ga. – November 19, 2016 – Just nineteen days into a new venture driving for Chip Stone and Randy Weaver, the first victory came for Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga.

This marked Overton’s first victory on the tour and first during the Gobbler race on Saturday Night at Boyd’s Speedway. The victory was worth $10,000 for Overton. Overton became the 11th different winner in the 13 races held on the tour. He also was the 24th different winner in just 34 total events in three seasons. Overton drove a Longhorn Chassis powered by a Cornett Racing Engine sponsored by Stone Land Cleaning & Excavating, Mission Transport, A.F. Stone Professional Medical Services and The Bailey Company.

Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga. picked up the 2016 Southern Nationals Bonus Series title with his third place finish in the main event. He picked up $5,053 and picked up an additional $5,000 as the overall champion of the Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals, Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals and the Southern Nationals Bonus Series. McIntosh drove the Blount Motorsports-owned, Massey Electric, Stower’s CAT, Tennessee RV Sales & Service Super Center, Cherokee Millwright & Mechanical-sponsored Vic Hill Racing Engines-powered Rocket Chassis to the championship this season. McIntosh also claimed the Old Man’s Garage Spring Nationals Series title back in May.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or visit the official website located at .

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results of “28th Annual Gobbler” at Boyd’s Speedway on November 19, 2016:

1. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
2. Chris Madden-Gray Court, S.C.
3. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
4. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, Ga.
5. Jason Hiett-Oxford, Ala.
6. Chase Junghans-Manhattan, Kan.
7. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
8. Jason Welshan-Maryville, Tenn.
9. Cody King-McDonough, Ga.
10. Austin Smith-Rome, Ga.
11. Derek Ellis-Chatsworth, Ga.
12. Jason Croft-Woodstock, Ga.
13. Will Roland-Jasper, Ga.
14. Austin Arnold-Kosciusko, Miss.
15. Stacy Boles-Clinton, Tenn.
16. Ryan King-Seymour, Tenn.
17. Riley Hickman-Cleveland, Tenn.
18. Jamie Perry-Ringgold, Ga.
19. Jimmy Owens-Newport, Tenn.
20. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
21. David Breazeale-Four Corners, Miss.
22. Frank Ingram-Acworth, Ga.
23. Doug Smith-Harriman, Tenn.
24. Skip Arp-Georgetown, Tenn.

Heat-One Finish: Donald McIntosh, Stacy Boles, Skip Arp, Cody King, Will Roland, Austin Kirkpatrick, Brett White, Doug Smith, Ryan King.

Heat-Two Finish: Chris Madden, Austin Smith, Jason Hiett, Jamie Perry, David Breazeale, Billy Franklin, Austin Arnold, Kyle Pierce.

Heat-Three Finish: Jimmy Owens, Dale McDowell, Chase Junghans, Jason Croft, Derek Ellis, Casey Roberts, Ethan Hunter, Dusty Carver, Scott Randolph.

Heat-Four Finish: Brandon Overton, David Payne, Frank Ingram, Riley Hickman, Jason Welshan, Brandon Kinzer, Caleb Ashby, Ronnie Johnson, Bo Eaton.

Consolation Race One Finish: David Breazeale, Will Roland, Austin Arnold, Ryan King, Brett White, Kyle Pierce, Doug Smith, Austin Kirkpatrick (DNS), Billy Franklin (DNS).

Consolation Race Two Finish: Jason Welshan, Derek Ellis, Casey Roberts, Brandon Kinzer, Caleb Ashby, Ethan Hunter, Dusty Carver, Bo Eaton, Ronnie Johnson (DNS), Scott Randolph (DNS).

Yellow Flags: Four (laps 25, 36, 54, 57)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: McIntosh (1-4), Madden (5-19), Overton (20-60)
Entries: 35
FK Rod Ends Overall Fast Time: Chase Junghans-14.509 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Derek Ellis
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): Doug Smith
Highest Finishing Steel Head/SPEC Engine ($200): None
Provisional Starters: Ryan King and Doug Smith

Final Southern Nationals Bonus Series Points (after Nov. 19, 2016) (drops not included)
1. Donald McIntosh-2,486
2. David Payne-2,208
3. Ryan King-1,926
4. Doug Smith-1,849
5. Billy Ogle Jr.-1,171
6. Cory Hedgecock-944
7. Jason Welshan-888
8. Jason Croft-870
9. Mike Marlar-813
10. Brandon Overton-772