Southern Nationals Bonus Series Closes 2016 with Gobbler at Boyd’s Speedway November 18 & 19

Contact: Chris Tilley
Southern Nationals Bonus Series P.R. Coordinator
606-219-1723 |

BRASSTOWN, N.C. – November 14, 2016 – The third season of the Southern Nationals Bonus Series will come to a close this Friday and Saturday November 18 and 19 with the 28th Annual running of the Gobbler race.

The rich history of the Gobbler event moves to Boyd’s Speedway this season after the closure of Cleveland (Tenn.) Speedway at the end of the 2015 campaign. Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C. is the defending champion of the Southern Nationals Bonus Series-sanctioned Gobbler last season.

The Friday November 18th show includes FK Rod Ends Qualifying and Heat Races while Saturday November 19th show will see Consolation Races and the 60-lap Gobbler event paying $10,000-to-win. An open practice session will be held on Thursday November 17th.

The tire rule for the weekend will be as follows: Hoosier 1350, 1600 and American Racer 48, 56. These tires will be allowed on all four corners. Also, the Southern Nationals Bonus Series will pay a $200 bonus to the highest finishing driver using a CT525 series engine and a $200 bonus to the highest finishing driver using a Steel Head/Spec engine on Saturday Night. Mike Franks with Whitfield Tire and Service Center of Tunnel Hill, Ga. will be placing $100 towards the overall fastest Super Late Model on Friday Night.

On Thursday Night November 17th, the track will hold an open practice session from 6:00 pm until 10:00 pm. The pit gates open at 3:00 pm. Adult general admission will be free while pit passes will be $20.00.

On Friday Night November 18th, the pits open at 3:00 pm with the grandstand opening at 4:00 pm. The drivers meeting is slated for 6:30 pm and hot laps will follow. Adult general admission is $15.00 while adult pit passes are $30.00. After the racing program on Friday, there will be a Live band in the pit area open to all attendees.

On Saturday Night November 19th, the pits open at 3:00 pm and the grandstand gates will open at 4:00 pm. The drivers meeting is set for 5:00 pm and hot laps will follow on Saturday. Adult general admission is $25.00 while adult pit passes are $35.00.

In addition to the Southern Nationals Super Late Models, the Crate Late Models will race for $2,500-to-win and $200-to-start ($100 entry fee) with Qualifying and Heats on Friday while the Consolation Races and Feature will be on Saturday. The Sportsman will race for $1,000-to-win with Heats on Friday while the Conseys and Feature will be on Saturday. The Limited Late Models will race Saturday only paying $1,200-to-win featuring Qualifying and a main event. The Mod Minis (free transponder rental) will race for $400-to-win Saturday only and feature Heat races and the Feature race. On Friday, the B-Hobby class (free transponder rental) will compete for $300-to-win and have a Heat race and Feature. On Saturday, the A-Hobby division (free transponder rental) will race for $400-to-win and have a show of Heats and the main event. A $20.00 transponder rental per division (unless otherwise specified above) will be good for the entire weekend (including Thursday’s practice).

For more information about the Southern Nationals Bonus Series, contact race promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or series public relations coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or on social media online at, on Facebook at Southern Nationals Series, and on Twitter @SoNationals.

Boyd’s Speedway is located at 1481 Scruggs Road in Ringgold, GA 30736. Further information can be obtained by calling (706) 891-6803 or visit Mufflers are mandatory in all divisions competing at Boyd’s.

Southern Nationals Bonus Series Payoff (60 laps): 1st- $10,000, 2nd- $5,000, 3rd- $2,500, 4th- $2,000, 5th- $1,500, 6th- $1,100, 7th- $1,000, 8th- $950, 9th- $900, 10th- $850, 11th- $800, 12th- $750, 13th- $650, 14th- $600, 15th- $550, 16th- $530, 17th- $520, 18th- $500, 19th- $500, 20th- $500, 21st- $500, 22nd- $500.

Current Southern Nationals Bonus Series Points (after Nov. 12, 2016):
1. Donald McIntosh-2,292
2. David Payne-2,022
3. Ryan King-1,758
4. Doug Smith-1,695
5. Billy Ogle Jr.-1,171
6. Cory Hedgecock-944
7. Mike Marlar-813
8. Kenny Collins-740
9. Ray Cook-730
10. Jason Welshan-704

Previous Gobbler winners (Cleveland Speedway):
1989-Lamar Lowry
1990-Ronnie Johnson
1991-Rex Richey
1992-Ronnie Johnson
1993-Dale McDowell
1994-Frank Ingram
1995-Don O’Neal
1996-Ronnie Johnson
1997-Dale McDowell
1998-Danny Peoples
1999-John Jones
2000-Patrick Duggan
2001-Dale McDowell
2002-Dale McDowell
2003-Dale McDowell
2004-Skip Arp
2005-Scott Sexton
2006-Clint Smith
2007-Shane Clanton
2008-Shane Clanton
2009-Chris Madden
2010-Jonathan Davenport
2011-Ray Cook
2012-Randy Weaver
2013-Jake Knowles
2014-Riley Hickman
2015-Chris Madden