McDowell Snags Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Finale at Tazewell Speedway
-Brandon Overton Bags 2019 Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Title

By Michael Despain

TAZEWELL, TENNESSEE (July 27, 2019)– The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels would conclude its 2019 series points chase at Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, TN on Saturday evening and Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA would take his second-consecutive series victory and claim the $10,053 victory in the Ray Varner Ford 53, making him just the second repeat winner with the tour in 2019. Brandon Overton of Evans, GA would claim the 2019 Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels championship.

McDowell’s victory was his fifth career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels victory. McDowell’s winning mount is a Sweet-Bloomquist Race Car powered by a Clements Race Engine and carries sponsorship from E-Z GO, New Era Industrial, Kinzer Drilling Company, Quality Natural Gas, Cometic Gaskets, Klotz Lubricants, Will Kinzer Foundation for Autism Research, and Spring Pro. 

Kyle Strickler would grab the race lead at the start of the 53-lap feature contest, with Brandon Overton, Dale McDowell, Ross Bailes, and Michael Chilton in pursuit. Disaster would strike Chilton on lap two as he would make contact with the outside retaining wall in turn two to draw the only caution of the event, ending his night. Strickler would bring the field back to the green flag, with McDowell driving past Overton for the second position and Jason Trammell taking fourth from Bailes, however, Bailes would reclaim the fourth position from Trammell on lap six. Strickler would start working slower traffic on lap eleven, allowing McDowell to close right up on Strickler. Strickler would slip up the racing surface in turn one on lap thirteen, allowing McDowell to take the race lead on lap thirteen. McDowell would open his lead to almost a full straightaway at times and would pick his way through traffic, while Overton repeatedly challenged Strickler for second until Overton finally took the second position from Strickler on lap forty-nine. Overton would gain on McDowell in the final few laps, but would run out of laps as McDowell would take the checkered flag first, with Overton finishing second and Strickler finishing third. Bailes and Trammell completed the top five finishers. The remainder of the top ten at the finish would be Jake Knowles, Vic Hill, Donald McIntosh, Jackie Boggs, and Dakotah Knuckles.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuels would like to congratulate Brandon Overton of Evans, GA on taking the 2019 series championship title. Overton would win three series events (Wythe, Smoky Mountain, and Crossville) on his way to capture his second series title, having also won the tour championship in 2017. The remainder of the top five in final series points would be Jake Knowles of Rome, GA (one victory at Tri-County), Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, GA, Tanner English of Benton, KY, and Cla Knight of North Augusta, SC.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuels would like to thank all the racers, race teams, fans, track promoters, and track staffs for their support of the 2019 edition of the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuels.    

Further information about the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuels can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Public Relations Director Chris Tilley at (828) 361-5981 or (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official series website located at

The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuels would like to thank the following sponsors and marketing partners: Schaeffer’s Oil, Sunoco Race Fuels,, American Racer Tires, AR Bodies, Arizona Sport Shirts, Barry Wright Race Cars, Capital Race Cars, Chizmark and Larson Insurance Agency, Collins Signs,, Delph Communications,, Earnhardt Technologies Group, EZ-GO, FK Rod Ends, Hoosier Racing Tire, Keyser Manufacturing, MasterSbilt Race Cars,, Wiles Driveshafts, Vic Hill Race Engines, and VP Racing Fuels. 

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuels at Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, TN on July 27, 2019
1. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, Ga.
2. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
3. Kyle Strickler-Mooresville, N.C.
4. Ross Bailes-Clover, S.C.
5. Jason Trammell-Powell, Tenn.
6. Jake Knowles-Rome, Ga.
7. Vic Hill-Mosheim, Tenn.
8. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
9. Jackie Boggs-Grayson, Ky.
10. Dakotah Knuckles-Ewing, Va.
11. Cla Knight-North Augusta, S.C.
12. Tanner English-Benton, Ky.
13. Forrest Trent-Talbott, Tenn.
14. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
15. Tyler Clem-Ocala, Fla.
16. Eric Webber-Morristown, Tenn.
17. Mack McCarter-Gatlinburg, Tenn.
18. Greg Estes-Jonesville, Va.
19. Jeff Wolfenbarger-Clinton, Tenn.
20. Benji Hicks-Mount Airy, N.C.
21. Jason Jameson-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
22. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.

Time of Race: 14 minutes, 3 seconds
Margin of Victory: 1.786 seconds
Yellow Flags: One (lap 2)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Kyle Strickler 1-12, Dale McDowell 13-53
Entries: 26
Overall Top Qualifier: Kyle Strickler (Group A) 11.850 seconds
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel Head/SPEC Engine ($200): Eric Webber
Provisional Starters: Mack McCarter, Eric Webber

Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Kyle Strickler, Jason Trammell, Cla Knight, Tanner English, Kenny Collins, Terry Wolfenbarger (DNS-Mack McCarter)

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Ross Bailes, Jake Knowles, Jackie Boggs, Forrest Trent, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Clyde Overholt

Heat Three Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Brandon Overton, Michael Chilton, Donald McIntosh, Jason Jameson, Benji Hicks, Eric Webber, Lynn Leach

Heat Four Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Dale McDowell, Vic Hill, Dakotah Knuckles, Tyler Clem, Greg Estes (DNS-Matthew Holt)

B-Main Finish (12 laps/top 4 transfer)- Jeff Wolfenbarger, Benji Hicks, Kenny Collins, Greg Estes, Mack McCarter, Terry Wolfenbarger, Eric Webber, Lynn Leach, Clyde Overholt (DNS-Matthew Holt)

Final Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Points (after 7/27/19)
1. Brandon Overton-1,706
2. Jake Knowles-1,694
3. Donald McIntosh-1,664
4. Tanner English-1,636
5. Cla Knight-1,606
6. Tyler Clem-1,101
7. Michael Chilton-928
8. Ross Bailes-926
9. Kenny Collins-870
10.  Aaron Ridley-826

2019 Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Schedule/Results
July 13-Wythe Raceway-Rural Retreat, VA-$10,000 to win-Brandon Overton
July 14-Cherokee Speedway-Gaffney, SC-$10,000 to win-Trent Ivey
July 16-Smoky Mountain Speedway-Maryville, TN-$3,500 to win-Brandon Overton
July 18-Toccoa Raceway-Toccoa, GA-$3,500 to win-Rainout
July 19-Senoia Raceway-Senoia, GA-$5,025 to win-Rainout
July 20-Screven Motor Speedway-Sylvania, GA-$10,000 to win-Ross Bailes
July 21-Rome Speedway-Rome, GA-$5,300 to win-Austin Horton
July 23-Tri County Race Track-Brasstown, NC-$3,500 to win-Jake Knowles
July 25-Crossville Speedway-Crossville, TN-$3,500 to win-Brandon Overton
July 26-411 Motor Speedway-Seymour, TN-10,000 to win-Dale McDowell
July 27-Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, TN-$10,053 to win-Dale McDowell