Tennessee Tipoff Classic Paying $15,000 to win runs Thursday May 4th at Smoky Mountain Speedway

Contact: Chris Tilley
Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series P.R. Coordinator
606-219-1723 |

MARYVILLE, Tenn. – May 1, 2017 – After nearly a two month delay because of weather, the Fourth Annual Tennessee Tipoff Classic at Smoky Mountain Speedway will be this Thursday May 4th.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee R.V. will sanction the Fourth Annual Tennessee Tipoff Classic at the Maryville, Tenn. oval. The event pays $15,000-to-win and $750-to-start and boasts a purse in excess of $50,000. The feature distance is 75 laps. The Limited Late Models and Sportsman Late Models will also be racing for a full show.

On March 11th, the event was postponed due to inclement weather. The Heat races were completed with Jimmy Owens, Donald McIntosh, Chris Madden and Tim McCreadie taking the victories. Jimmy Owens (Heat One) and Chris Madden (Heat Three) will bring the field to the green for the 75-lapper.

Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn. is the defending race winner ($15,000) which was sanctioned by the Spring Nationals Series. Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga. and Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C. shared Tennessee Tipoff Classic victories during the event in 2014. Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga. claimed the rescheduled 2015 race after a rain out forced the postponement of the event.

On Thursday May 4th, all gates will open at 4:00 pm with the driver’s meeting at 6:30 pm and hot laps scheduled to roll out at 7:00 pm. Thursday’s program includes the 12-lap Consolation Race and the 75-lap main event for the Super Late Models. A full show of Limited Late Models ($1,500-to-win) and Sportsman ($1,000-to-win) will also compete on Thursday Night. Thursday’s grandstand admission is $30.00 for adults. Adult tier parking admission is $35.00 and adult pit passes are $40.00.

Any drivers wanting to start the tail end of the Consolation Race may do so but must pay the entry fee of $125.00 to the series. The Super Late Model tire rule for this event is as follows: Hoosier 1350 and 1600 along with the American Racer 48 and 56.

The Smoky Mountain Speedway is located at 809 Brickmill Road in Maryville, TN 37801. The track phone number is (865) 856-8989. You can obtain further information on Smoky Mountain Speedway by logging on to . Be a follower of Smoky Mountain Speedway on Twitter by following @SMOKYMTNSPEED.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or visit the official website located at .

Fourth Annual Tennessee Tipoff Classic Sweet 16 Feature Line-Up:
Row 1: Jimmy Owens-Chris Madden
Row 2: Donald McIntosh-Tim McCreadie
Row 3: Jonathan Davenport-Dale McDowell
Row 4: Scott Bloomquist-Jason Croft
Row 5: Shanon Buckingham-Robby Moses
Row 6: Michael Chilton-Skip Arp
Row 7: Mike Marlar-Ricky Weiss
Row 8: Brandon Overton-Joey Coulter
Row 9: Consolation Race Winner-Consolation Race 2nd Place
Row 10: Consolation Race 3rd Place-Consolation Race 4th Place
Row 11: Series Provisional-Series Provisional

Consolation Race Lineup (10 laps/Top-4 Transfer)
Row 1: Stacy Boles-Mark Douglas
Row 2: David Payne-Ryan King
Row-3: Tommy Kerr-Vic Hill
Row-4: Billy Ogle Jr.