Tazewell, TN (5/24/20) --- Kentuckian Brian Smith has a firm grasp on racing Tazewell Speedway and Sunday night the Late Model ace showed that prowess, when he dominated the 40 lap United Championship Racing Alliance feature. Unfortunately for Smith he was disqualified from the victory during post race inspections, which handed the win to Jason Trammell (# 91) of Knoxville and his "Hatmaker Holdings, CharlieBrownCo. Screen Printing and Embroidery Services,  R&J Sign Co, Lake City Tire, Discount Auto Parts, Dents R US, Hoosier Tire South, Stealth Racing Carburetors, Bryan King Roofing, Fastlane Signs & Graphics, Xs Power, Integra Shocks and Vic Hill Racing Engines" raceteam.
In front of a large crowd, the season opener drew 22 competitors for the $11,500 event. Ross White (# 0) of Knoxville topped "Gresham Racing Parts" qualifying, but in the feature all eyes were on a hurricane. Heat #2 winner, Kasey Hall pressured the leader lap after lap in the $3,001 to win A-main. The Alabama racer slipped in the waning laps allowing local hot-shoe Jason Trammell to take over, what would be the winning move with only a few laps remaining. Josh Collins of Knoxville, Heat #3 winner Jeff Neubert of Rockford and Forest Trent rounded out the Top 5 of the feature. Hall unofficially leaves Tazewell Speedway the new UCRA points leader as 2018 Points Champion Jimmy Elliott of Cleveland finished 7th overall. Hall finished 5th in the March UCRA season opener at his home track in Fort Payne, AL. Soddy Daisy's Kenny Kizzar gained valuable points as the leading Rookie of the Year contender Jason Cardwell fell to a 19th place finish. 

The next UCRA event is scheduled for Talladega (AL) Short Track in 3 weeks on Saturday, June 13th. Keep up with the series news online at UCRAracing.com or on the Facebook social media page.

Official Results 
2nd Annual Melvin Corum Memorial 40
1. Jason Trammell, 2. Kasey Hall, 3. Josh Collins, 4. Jeff Neubert, 5. Forest Trent, 6. Jimmy Elliott, 7. Jonathan Miracle, 8. Marty Calloway, 9. Kenny Kizzar, 10. Jeremy Holtzclaw, 11. Austin Glass, 12. Tyler Smith, 13. Michael Smith, 14. Bradley Strong, 15. John Llewellyn, 16. Aaron Guinn, 17. Ross White, 18. Jason Cardwell, 19. Seth Wimpey, 20. Zane Powell, DNS: Mack McCarter DQ'd: Brian Smith