For immediate release: Tyler Clem completes weeknd sweep of the USCS Speed Xplosion in Finale at Bubba Raceway Park on Saturday

Ocala, FL – April 14, 2018 – Tyler Clem from St. Petersburg, Florida raced from ninth starting spot to his second win of the weekend at his home track in the USCS Spring Speed Xplosion 30-lap Finale at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Florida. Clem again bested a field of 23 cars from eight states and Canada for his career-third USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters stop in the USCS Victory Lane to collect the $2000 top prize. This weekend’s events were his first in competition since being injured in a non-wing February racing event at the speedway. The 15-year-old young gun also won Friday night’s preliminary 25-Lap A-main.

Clem crossed the finish line ahead of 2010 USCS Rookie of the Year Eric Riggins, Jr. from Charlotte, North Carolina who started sixth place. Veteran Florida sprint car driver Johnny Gilbertson who started twenty-second in the Finale, had a gallant run and raced his way into the lead on lap sixteen only to fade at the end when Tyler Clem charged past him on lap twenty-four in route to victory lane. Riggins passed him (Gilbertson) on lap twenty-seven as he appeared to have tire trouble. Gilbertson held on to finish in the K&N Filters Podium Award third place. Mark Ruel, Jr. from Jacksonville, Florida finished fourth place to cap a double top-five weekend.

After Michael Miller from Ocean Springs, Mississippi cross the finish line in the fifth position, he then failed to report to the tech area he was penalized for the infraction. This resulted in defending USCS National Champion, Jordon Mallett from Greenbrier, Arkansas being awarded the fifth position and rounded out the top five drivers.

Danny Martin, Jr. from Sarasota, Florida led laps three through fifteen before having a tire issue and dropped to sixth at the finish. Martin was followed by 16-year-old Joey Schmidt from Ellisville, Mississippi in seventh place. Schmidt started sixteenth and advanced nine places. Tanner Witherspoon from Jacksonville, Florida followed Schmidt after starting seventeenth and passing nine cars as well to finish eighth. Another veteran USCS racer, Joe Larkin from Suwannee, Georgia followed the two young guns in ninth place after himself starting eighteenth and advancing nine positions as well. Past Cajun Sprints Association Champion, Shane Morgan from Biloxi, Mississippi completed the top ten.

Eric Riggins, Jr. won the USCS Cash Dash. Jordon Mallett next won the USCS Hoosier Speed Dash. Mallett continued winning by collecting the win in the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat. Michael Miller from Ocean Springs, Mississippi won the Brown and Miller Racing Solutions Second Heat. Danny Martin, Jr. closed out the qualifying heat action with a win in the Butlerbuilt Third Heat race. Nick Snyder from Marco Island, Florida was the evening’s highest passing points earner. Jordon Mallett rolled the inversion die as customary as the first heat race winner Fortunately for Snyder, Mallett rolled a zero (NO INVERSION) and awarded Snyder the K&N Filters Pole Position and K&N Filters Pole Award.

Snyder then started the race in the number one position and led the main event for three laps. Johnny Gilbertson garnered the event’s Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award after his mammoth effort of starting 22nd and advancing nineteen places to finish in third place.

The next USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour event is on Saturday night April 14th back at Bubba Raceway Park for the USCS Spring Speed Xplosion final. For updated schedules and other USCS info please visit or call the series at 770-865-6097.
The United Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters would like to gratefully thank its sponsoring partners for their involvement in the 2018 and 22nd USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour: K&N Filters,, FireAde, Pro Shocks, Engler Machine and Tool, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, Butlerbuilt, Saldana Racing Products, Pyrotect Racing Cells, KSE Racing Products, DHR Suspensions, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, DSR Fuel Systems, Arizona Sport Shirts and Hero Graphics.
United Sprint Car Series Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters USCS Spring Speed Xplosion inale at Bubba Raceway Park on Saturday, April 14, 2018 results:

USCS Hoosier Speed Dash: 1. 14 Jordon Mallett, 2. 22 Johnny Gilbertson 3. 83 Mark Ruel, Jr., 4. 24 Danny Martin, Jr. 5. 14c Tyler Clem, 6. 4 Danny Smith.

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: 1. 14 Jordon Mallett, 2. 83 Mark Ruel, Jr., 3. 3a A.J. Maddox, 4. 10b Mitch Brown, 5. 10 Terry Gray, 6. 07 Brandon Taylor, 7. 33 Joe Larkin, 8. 22 Johnny Gilbertson.

Brown and Miller Racing Solutions Second Heat: 1. 43 Michael Miller; 2. 116 Nick Snyder, 3. 24d Danny Sams III, 4. 38 Tony Agin, 5. 99 Tanner Witherspoon, 6. 88 Brandon Blendon, 7. G6 Brandon Grubaugh DNS 52 Cody Karl.

Butlerbuilt Third Heat: 1. 24 Danny Martin Jr; 2. 47 Eric Riggins, Jr., 3. 4. Danny Smith, 4. 14c Tyler Clem, 5. 01 Shane Morgan, 6. 1s Joey Schmidt, 7. 21b Brandon Mclain.

USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters USCS Spring Speed Xplosion Finale Main Event (30-laps) Finish at Bubba Raceway Park on Saturay, April 14, 2018:
1.      14               Tyler Clem                    St. Pete, FL
2.      47               Eric Riggins Jr               Charlotte, NC
3.      22g             Johnny Gilbertson         Dover, FL
4.      83               Mark Ruel Jr                 Jacksonville, FL
5.      14               Jordon Mallett               Greenbriar, AR
6.      24               Danny Martin Jr             Sarasota, FL
7.      1s               Joey Schmidt                Ellisville, MS
8.      99               Tanner Witherspoon      Jacksonville, FL
9.      33               Joe Larkin                     Suwanee, GA
10.   01               Shane Morgan              Biloxi, MS
11.   07               Brandon Taylor              Cumming, GA
12.   43m            Michael Miller                Ocean Springs, MS
13.   116             Nick Snyder                  Marco Island, FL
14.   21b             Brandon McLain            Indian Trail, NC
15.   38               Tony Agin                     Ft. Myers, FL
16.   52               Cody Karl                      Gulfport, MS
17.   G6              Brandon Grubaugh        Ocala, FL
18.   10b             Mitch Brown                  Brantford, Ontario, Canada
19.   4                Danny Smith                 Chillicothe, OH
20.   3a               A.J. Maddox                 Brandon, FL
21.   10               Terry Gray                    Bartlett, TN
22.   88               Brandon Blendon          Gulfport, MS

23.   24d             Danny Sams III              Northport, FL

USCS Sprint Car Series Race Awards:
Hoosier Tire Speed Dash: !4 Mallett
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: 14 Jordon Mallett
Brown and Miller Racing Solutions Second Heat: 43m Michael Miller

Butlerbuilt Tird Heat: Danny Martin, Jr.
K&N Filters Pole Award: 116 Nick Snyder
JE Pistons Top Guns Award: (5th place) 14 Jordon Mallett

PRO Shocks Champion Choice Award: 1st place 14c Tyler Clem
K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award: 22 Johnny Gilbertson
Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award: 22 Johnny Gilgertson (22nd to 3rd)
Saldana Racing Products Super Sixth Award: 24 Danny Martin, Jr.
Pyrotect Racing Cells Lucky Seven Award: 1s Joey Schmidt

DHR Suspension Eighth Place Award:99 Tanner Witherspoon
DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends Top Ten Award: 01 Shane Morgan