For immediate release:
Danny Smith wins Friday USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour by K&N event at Crossville Speedway.

Crossville, TN – April 120, 2018 – Danny Smith from Chillicothe, Ohio took advantage of his K&N Filters Pole Position to race away to his career-second USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters 30-lap A-Main win at Crossville Speedway on Friday night. The amazing veteran driver set another milestone for himself by also making it 44 seasons in a row he has won at least one sprint car A-Main event with the win. Smith lead every lap of the main event to punctuate the feat as well.

Sixteen-year-old USCS young gun, Joey Schmidt from Ellisville, Mississippi had his best night of the season so far with a runner-up finish behind Smith in second place. Schmidt started in sixth position. He additionally won one of the two USCS Hoosier Speed Dashes earlier in the evening. Two-time USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour National Champion, Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee followed the duo across the finish line in the K&N Filters Podium Award third place.

Eleven-time USCS Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee finished just behind his team-mate (Turpen) in fourth place. Another young gun, Nick Drake from Mooresville, North Carolina rounded out the top five drivers.

The 2017 USCS Southern Thunder Tour regional series Rookie of the Year Scott Hunter from Concord, North Carolina led the next group to the finish line in sixth place. 2015 USCS Rookie fot he Year, Nick Snyder form Marco Island, Florida followed in seventh place. Another past USCS Rookie of the Year (2012) Jeff Willingham from Ripley, Mississippi finished in eighth place followed by two-time USCS 600 Sprint Car Series mini sprint National Champion, Sean Hosey from Lebanon, Tennessee. Veteran USCs racer Joe Larkin from Suwannee, Georgia rounded out the top ten drivers.

Of note, points leader and defending Champion, Jordon Mallett, who started outside the front row next to Danny Smith had to give up his challenge for the win when his hard charging style saw him bang the wall hard enough to break the rear suspension. At this point he also destroyed his right rear Hoosier Tire and he had to exit the event on lap twenty-two.

Earlier in the evening, preliminary victories went to Joey Schmidt in the first USCS Hoosier Speed Dash for the USCS Mid-South region. Defending USCS National Champion and current series points leader, Jordon Mallett from Greenbrier, Arkansas claimed the win in the second USCS Hoosier Speed Dash held for the USCS Southern Thunder regional series. Morgan Turpen then won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat. Mallett raced to victory again in the Brown and Miller Racing Solutions Second Heat Race. Joey Schmidt garnered the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award after advancing the most positions in the A-Main.

The next USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour event is on Saturday night April 21st at I-75 Raceway for the USCS Saturday of Speed. For venue info please visit For updated schedules and other USCS info please visit or call the series at 770-865-6097.
The United Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters would like to gratefully thank its sponsoring partners for their involvement in the 2018 and 22nd USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour: K&N Filters,, FireAde, Pro Shocks, Engler Machine and Tool, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, Butlerbuilt, Saldana Racing Products, Pyrotect Racing Cells, KSE Racing Products, DHR Suspensions, Schoenfeld Headers, Bell Helmets, DSR Fuel Systems, Arizona Sport Shirts and Hero Graphics.

United Sprint Car Series Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters at Crossville Speedway on Friday, April 20, 2018 RESULTS:

USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters at Crossville Speedway on Friday, April 20, 2018 RESULTS:

K&N Filters USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour A-Main Event presented by FireAde 2000 (30 laps)

1. 4 Danny Smith, Chillicothe, OH
2. 1s Joey Schmidt, Ellisville, MS
3. 10m Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN
4. 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
5. 20 Nick Drake, Indian Trail, NC
6. 1x Scott Hunter, Concord, NC
7. 116 Nick Snyder, Marco Island, FL
8. 28 Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS
9. 6 Sean Hosey, Lebanon, TN
10. 33 Joe Larkin, Suwanee, GA
11. 14 Jordon Mallett, Greenbriar, AR
12. 25 Ray Bugg, Iuka, MS
13. 5w Ryan Coniam, Denver, CO
DNS  21b Brandon McLain, Indian Trail, NC
DNS  38 Tony Agin, Ft. Myers, FL

Preliminary Events:
USCS Hoosier Speed Dash (Mid-South Region) (6 laps)

1. 1s  Joey Schmidt, Ellisville, MS
2. 14  Jordon Mallett, Greenbriar, AR
3. 6    Sean Hosey, Clarksville, TN
4. 10  Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
5. 10m Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN
6.  38 Tony Agin, Ft Myers, FL

USCS Hoosier Speed Dash (Southern Region) (6 laps)
1.  14 Jordon Mallett, Greenbriar, AR
2.  1s Joey Schmidt, Ellisville, MS
3.  4   Danny Smith, Chillicothe, OH
4.  38 Tony Agin, Ft Myers, FL
5.  33 Joe Larkin, Suwanee, GA

Engler Machine and Tool Heat 1(8 laps)
1. 10m Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN
2. 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
3. 6   Sean Hosey, Clarksville, TN
4. 1s  Joey Schmidt, Ellisville, MS
5. 33  Joe Larkin, Suwanee, GA
6. 25  Ray Bugg, Iuka, MS
7. 5w  Ryan Coniam, Denver, CO
DNS   21b Brandon McLain, Indian Trail, NC

Brown and Miller Racing Solutions Heat 2 (8 laps)
1. 14 Jordon Mallett, Greenbriar, AR
2.  4 Danny Smith, Chillicothe, OH
3. 1x Scott Hunter,Concord, NC
4.  20 Nick Drake, Indian Trail, NC
5. 116 Nick Snyder, Marco Island, FL
6.  28 Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS
DNS  38 Tony Agin, Ft. Myers, FL  

USCS Sprint Car Series Race Awards:
Hoosier Tire Speed Dash Southern: !4 Jordon Mallett
Hoosier Speed Dash Mid-South: 1s Joey Schmidt
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: 10m Morgan Turpen
Brown and Miller Racing Solutions Second Heat: 14 Jordon Mallett

K&N Filters Pole Award: 4 Danny Smith
JE Pistons Top Guns Award: (1st place) 4 Danny Smith

PRO Shocks Champion Choice Award: 2nd place Joey Schmidt
K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award: 10m Morgan Turpen
Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award: 1s Joey Schmidt
Saldana Racing Products Super Sixth Award: 1x Scott Hunter
Pyrotect Racing Cells Lucky Seven Award: 116 Nick Snyder

DHR Suspension Eighth Place Award: 28 Jeff Willingham
DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends Top Ten Award: 33 Joe Larkin