FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: USCS Sprint Speedweek 2017 Round #5

Marshall Skinner charges to second USCS Sprint Speedweek win in Round #5 at Talladega Short Track

Eastaboga, AL – June 1, 2017 – Past USCS Champion, Marshall Skinner from Marion, AR, scored his second United Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters win of the week during Round #5 of the USCS Sprint Speedweek 2017 at Talladega Short Track on Thursday night. Skinner had to hold off a late race charge by veteran sprint car racer and three-time World of Outlaws Champion Sammy Swindell from Germantown, TN. After both got past early-race leader Tim Crawley who finished in the K&N Filters Podium Award third position behind Swindell. Monday night’s Speedweek Round #4 winner and 2013 USCS National Champion, Derek Hagar also from Marion, AR finished fourth followed by eleven-time series National USCS Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, TN in the fifth place.

Dale Howard from Byhalia, MS headed the next group in sixth place followed by the current USCS series point leader, Jordon Mallett from Greenbrier, AR who finished in seventh place. The defending and two-time USCS National Champion, Morgan Turpen from Cordova, TN chased those seven other veteran drivers to the finish line in eighth place. Rookie driver Jake Knight from Georgetown, MS followed in ninth place and USCS Rookie of the Year contender Brandon Taylor from Cumming, GA rounded out the top ten finishers.

Tim Crawley won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat. Derek Hagar collected the win in the Brown and Miller Racing Solutions Second Heat. Tim Crawley also earned the most passing points in the heat race action. As the first heat race-winner, Crawley drew a Zero in the K&N Filters Pole Award drawing. This placed Crawley on the K&N Filters Pole Position and Derek Hagar outside front row. Dale Howard started tenth and passed four cars, earning him the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award.

On Friday, June 2nd the USCS drivers make their annual USC Sprint Speedweek Round #6 stop at Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, MS. ( On Saturday, June 3rd the 12th annual USCS Sprint Speedweek concludes with the finale at historic Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, AR.Their website is found at  

The United Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters would like to gratefully thank its sponsoring partners for their involvement in the 2017 and 21st anniversary USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour: K&N Filters,,Engler Machine and Tool, Butlerbuilt, Wilwood Disc Brakes, Saldana Racing Products, Pyrotect Racing Cells, Bell Racing USA, PRO Shocks, DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends. KSE Racing Products, DHR Suspensions, Schoenfeld Headers, DSR Fuel Systems, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, Arizona Sport Shirts and Hero Graphics.

For USCS rules, schedules and other info please visit . or call the series at 770-460-7334 or 770-865-6097. You may also like and follow Uscsracing on Facebook and or @uscsracing on Twitter.

United Sprint Car Series Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters 
USCS Sprint Speedweek 2017 Round #5 at Talladega Short Track results.

USCS Hoosier Speed DASH - (6 Laps) 
1. 9jr-Derek  Hagar[1] ; 2. 88-Tim Crawley[2] ; 3. 3-Sammy Swindell[5] ; 4. 10m-Morgan Turpen[4] ; 5. 26-Marshall Skinner[3] ; 6. 14-Jordon  Mallett[6].

ENGLER MACHINE & TOOL Heat One - (8 Laps)
1. 88-Tim Crawley[8] ; 2. 3-Sammy Swindell[3] ; 3. 10m-Morgan Turpen[5] ; 4. 47-Dale Howard[1] ; 5. 14-Jordon  Mallett[7] ; 6. 93-Jake Knight[6] ; 7. 67-Brian Thomas[2] ; 8. 28-Jeff Willingham[4]

1. 9jr-Derek  Hagar[3] ; 2. 10-Terry Gray[4] ; 3. 26-Marshall Skinner[7] ; 4. 42-Andy McElhannon[6] ; 5. 61-Cody Howard[2] ; 6. 07-Brandon Taylor[8] ; 7. 21b-Brandon McLain[5] ; 8. 38-Tony Agin[1]

USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour Sprint A-Main - (30 Laps)
1. 26-Marshall Skinner[3] ; 2. 3-Sammy Swindell[5] ; 3. 88-Tim Crawley[1] ; 4. 9jr-Derek  Hagar[2] ; 5. 10-Terry Gray[4] ; 6. 47-Dale Howard[10] ; 7. 14-Jordon  Mallett[8] ; 8. 10m-Morgan Turpen[6] ; 9. 93-Jake Knight[12] ; 10. 07-Brandon Taylor[9] ; 11. 21b-Brandon McLain[13] ; 12. 38-Tony Agin[16] ; 13. 61-Cody Howard[11] ; 14. 42-Andy McElhannon[7] ; 15. 67-Brian Thomas[14] ; 16. 28-Jeff Willingham - DNS

USCS Sprint Car Series Race Awards:
Hoosier Tire Speed Dash: 9Jr. Derek Hagar
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: 88 Tim Crawley
BMRS Second Heat: 9Jr. Derek Hagar
K&N Filters Pole Award: 88 Tim Crawley
JE Pistons Top Guns Award: 26 Marshall Skinner
K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award: 88 Tim Crawley
Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award: 47 Dale Howard 
PRO Shocks Top Five Award: Sammy Swindell (2nd place) 
Saldana Racing Products Super Sixth Award: 47 Dale Howard
Pyrotect Racing Cells Lucky Seven Award: 14 Jordon Mallett
DHR Suspension 8th place Award: 10m Morgan Turpen 
DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends Top Ten Award: 07 Brandon Taylor