MILTON, FL  – Saturday, October 21, 2023 - Mark Smith of Sunbury, PA swept the Fall Brawl Weekend for the United Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters with a win in the 25-lap Feature Race Saturday night at Southern Raceway.  That followed up Smith’s victory on Friday night at Hattiesburg Speedway in Hattiesburg, MS.


               Max Stambaugh of Lima, OH finished second, and third went to Zane DeVault of Plymouth, IN.  National Sprint Car Hall of Fame Inductee Terry Gray of Bartlett, TN took the fourth spot to wrap up his 15th United Sprint Car Series National Championship.  Lance Moss of Cherryville, NC started 18th and finished fifth to earn the Wilwood Brakes Hard Charger of the Race Award.

               Jeff Willingham of Ripley, MS was sixth, and Shane Morgan of Gulfport, MS finished seventh.  Eighth went to Dennis Misuraca of Sanford, FL and Tony Higgins of Lake Comorant, MS took the ninth spot.  Jason Breeland of Sandy Hook, MS rounded out the top ten.

               In preliminary action, Smith earned the pole position for the Feature Race after winning the six-lap Hoosier Racing Tire Speed Dash.  The three eight-lap Heat Races were won by Morgan in the Engler Machine & Tool First Heat, DeVault in the Butlerbuilt Second Heat, and Smith in the Willbanks Heating & Air Third Heat.

               Saturday night’s event at Southern Raceway concludes the 2023 United Sprint Car Series season.  Series officials will now begin to fill dates for their 28th season in 2024.  More information about the 2024 season will be posted in the coming weeks on the series website at, and on their Facebook page.

United Sprint Car Series Marketing Partners are K&N Filters, Engler Machine & Tool, Hoosier Racing Tire, Hero Graphics, DMI, J&J Supply of NC, Racing Electronics, JE Pistons, DHR Suspension, Wilwood Disc Brakes, KSC Racing Products, PRO Shocks, Schoenfeld Headers, and Arizona Sport Shirts.

OFFICIAL RESULTS for the USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters winged sprint car "Brawl at the Beach"  at SOUTHERN RACEWAY in Milton, Florida on Saturday, October 21, 2023:

FEATURE RACE – 25 Laps:  1. (1) Mark Smith, Sunbury, PA; 2. (2) Max Stambaugh, Lima, OH; 3. (4) Zane DeVault, Plymouth, IN; 4. (7) Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN; 5. (18) Lance Moss, Cherryville, NC; 6. (10) Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS; 7. (5) Shane Morgan, Gulfport, MS; 8. (12) Dennis Misuraca, Sanford, FL; 9. (11) Tony Higgins, Lake Comorant, MS; 10. (9) Jason Breeland, Sandy Hook, MS; 11. (15) Paul Jones, Kokomo, IN; 12. (17) D.L. Brashier, Ethel, LA; 13. (3) Danny Smith, Chillicothe, OH; 14. (8) Michael Miller, Pascagoula, MS; 15. (13) Sean Wimpee, Mobile, AL; 16. (16) Jake Brashier, Denham Springs, LA; 17. (6) Luke Hill, Safety Harbor, FL; 18. (14) Steve Diamond, Apollo Beach, FL.

HOOSIER SPEED DASH – 6 Laps:  1. M. Smith; 2. Stambaugh; 3. D. Smith; 4. DeVault; 5. Morgan; 6. Hill.

HEAT RACES – 8 Laps:

ENGLER MACHINE & TOOL 1ST HEAT:  1. Morgan; 2. Hill; 3. Stambaugh; 4. Higgins; 5. Diamond; 6. J. Brashier

JJ Supply of NC 2ND HEAT:  1. DeVault; 2. D. Smith; 3. Breeland; 4. Willingham; 5. Jones; D. Brashier DNS.

Racing Electronics 3RD HEAT:  1. M. Smith; 2. Gray; 3. Miller; 4. Misuraca; 5. Wimpee; 6. Moss DNS.


USCS Media Contact:  PETE WALTON – 770-865-6097.

Gray clinches 15th USCS National Championship in season finale at Southern Raceway.

Milton, Florida - October 21, 2023 - The "Bartlett Bullett", Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee clinched his 15th United Sprint Car Series Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters National Sprint Car Championship on Saturday night at Southern Raceway in Milton, Florida.

Additionally, the 2022 National Sprint Car Hall of Fame inductee garnered both the USCS Mid-South Thunder and the USCS Southern Thunder 2023  regional series titles.

The veteran racer used the same consistency he employed to fourteen previous USCS National crowns to capture the 2023 and 15th title.

Gray had a win at Alabama's Buckshot Speedway in June included in his twenty-four top five finishes out of fourty-four USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour winged sprint car main events. He also had thirty-seven top-ten finishes on his 2023 score card.

Gray, who won the first-ever USCS race at Talladega Short Track on Friday, April 25, 1997, used 2023 to add to an already long list of accomplishments including ninety-six career wins in USCS competition. He has over fourty National and regional series titles on dirt and paved surfaces with the United Sprint Car Series.

Gray, who is in his fifth decade competing in sprint cars, continues to impress night after night.

"We are so proud to announce that amazing veteran race car driver Terry Gray as our 2023 USCS National Champion. Terry has accomplished so much in our series and has done so much for our series," stated USCS Founder and Presiden, Pete Walton.

"Terry Gray has year after year, showed what it takes as far as hard work, enduring lots of travel and determination to be a true Champion. That is why he is a Hall of Famer," concluded Walton.

For the final 2023 USCS National, Mid-South Thunder Tour and Southern Thunder Tour point standings please visit

You may reach the USCS OFFICE by Calling 770-865-6097.