For immediate release: Kyle Amerson raced to his career-first USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour win in Helton Memorial at Dixie speedway on Saturday

Woodstock, GA - July 11, 2020 – Kyle Amerson from Matthews, Alabama raced to his career-first USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters main event win at historic Dixie Speedway on Saturday night in the twenty-seven lap 12th Annual Randy Helton Memorial Race. Amerson swept the evening’s USCS sprint car action by first winning the USC Hoosier Speed Dash. Amerson then won the Brown and Miller Racing Solutions Second Heat before parking his own #29 in the USCS Victory Lane for his final photo op of the evening to pose with the winner’s $2700 paycheck for his efforts.

Amerson was not only fast all evening but also had good fortune on his side. Amerson inherited the lead in the main event at mid race after early race-leader, Johnny Bridges from Cherryville North Carolina who was leading on a restart, and Danny Oliver from Pendergrass, Georgia who was following Bridges to the green flag front second position, both drove below and struck the restart marker (cone). Both drivers were called for cone violation and moved back two positions.
Amerson then assumed the point on the restart following and never looked back while surviving two more cautions and restarts himself.

USCS Rookie of the Year points leader, Conner Leoffler from Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, who started the main event in tenth place charged his way not the runner-up spot at the finish to mark down his best finish of the season with the series. Two-time USCS National sprint car Champion, Morgan Turpen from Somerville, Tennessee finished in the final podium spot in the K&N Filters third place. Johnny Bridges held on and challenged for second and third place the rest of the race finished fourth. 12-time USCS National Champion, Terry Gray who had fuel pump issues sideline him while leading both the Hoosier Speed Dash and the Butlerbuilt Third Heat rallied from his nineteenth starting spot in the main event to finish in fifth place after advancing fourteen positions. That was good enough to garner the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger award.

Jeff Oliver from Pendergrass, Georgia led the balance of the 22-car field to the finish line in sixth place after starting eleventh. Steve Surniak from Mooresville, North Carolina followed Oliver home in seventh place and Rookie sprint car driver, Hayden Martin from Olive Branch, Mississippi finished in eighth followed by another North Carolinian, Brandon McLain from Indian Trail, North Carolina. Mallie Shuster from Newville, Pennsylvania completed the top ten drivers.
completed the top ten.

Kyle Amerson kicked off the evening by winning the six-lap USCS Hoosier Speed Dash. Heat race winners were Morgan Turpen in the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat while Kyle Amerson scored again in the Brown and Miller Racing Solutions Second Heat. Steve Surniak won the Butlerbuilt Third Heat. The evening’s Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award as previously went to Terry Gray for advancing the most positions in the A-Main from 19th to 5th to earn the award.
The USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour next event is at Carolina Speedway in Gastonia, North Carolina on this coming Friday night, July 17th for a make-up race that goes all the way back to July of 2019. On the following evening, Saturday, July 18th, the USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour makes a return to East Lincoln Motor Speedway in Stanley, North Carolina.

The United Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters would like to gratefully thank its sponsoring partners for their involvement in the 2020 and 24th USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour: Hoosier Racing Tire, K&N Filters,, Engler Machine and Tool, Butlerbuilt, Wilwood Disc Brakes, DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends. PRO Shocks, KSE Racing Products, DHR Suspensions, Schoenfeld Headers, DSR Fuel Systems, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, Arizona Sport Shirts, Radical Race Gear, JJ Supply of NC (FireAde, FireAde Enforcer) and Hero Graphics.

For rules and updated schedule information about the United Sprint Car Series Outlaw Thunder Tour, please visit or call the series office at 770-865-6097. You can also like the United Sprint Car Series Facebook page at USCS Racing and follow USCS on Twitter @uscsracing.

USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters sprint cars at Dixie Speedway – Woodstock, GA on Saturday, July 11, 2020 - USCS Outlaw Thunder Sprint Cars 22 Entries
USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour Feature 27 Laps
12th Randy Helton Memorial (27 Laps): 1. 29A-Kyle Amerson[4]; 2. 22-Connor Leoffler[10]; 3. 10M-Morgan Turpen[3]; 4. 10-Terry Gray[19]; 5. 07-Johnny Bridges[1]; 6. 29O-Jeff Oliver[11]; 7. 1ST-Steve Surniak[5]; 8. 67M-Hayden Martin[14]; 9. 21B-Brandon McLain[7]; 10. 49-Mallie Shuster[9]; 11. 43-Terry Witherspoon[16]; 12. 28-Jeff Willingham[18]; 13. 20-Jim Shuster[17]; 14. 9-Danny Oliver[2]; 15. 33-Joe Larkin[20]; 16. (DNF) 7E-Eric Gunderson[15]; 17. (DNF) 92-AJ Maddox[8]; 18. (DNF) 1A-Lee Moore[13]; 19. (DNF) 67T-Brian Thomas[6]; 20. (DNF) 15-Danny Burke[12]; 21. (DNF) 43JR-Tanner Witherspoon[21]; 22. (DNS) 17B-Shelby Brown
Hoosier Speed Dash (6 Laps): 1. 29A-Kyle Amerson[5]; 2. 22-Connor Leoffler[3]; 3. 43-Terry Witherspoon[2]; 4. 49-Mallie Shuster[4]; 5. 20-Jim Shuster[6]; 6. (DNF) 10-Terry Gray[1]
Engler Machine & Tool Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 10M-Morgan Turpen[2]; 2. 07-Johnny Bridges[6]; 3. 49-Mallie Shuster[3]; 4. 29O-Jeff Oliver[4]; 5. 22-Connor Leoffler[7]; 6. 28-Jeff Willingham[1]; 7. 20-Jim Shuster[8]; 8. 43JR-Tanner Witherspoon[5]
BMRS Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 29A-Kyle Amerson[2]; 2. 92-AJ Maddox[1]; 3. 67T-Brian Thomas[6]; 4. 15-Danny Burke[3]; 5. 67M-Hayden Martin[4]; 6. 43-Terry Witherspoon[7]; 7. 33-Joe Larkin[5]
Butlerbuilt Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 1ST-Steve Surniak[2]; 2. 9-Danny Oliver[6]; 3. 21B-Brandon McLain[7]; 4. 1A-Lee Moore[4]; 5. 7E-Eric Gunderson[5]; 6. (DNF) 10-Terry Gray[1]; 7. (DNS) 17B-Shelby Brown