$20,000 to win when USMTS tackles two legends May 14-15

With Mother Nature’s blessing, the competitors in the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s resume their march to glory and the crowning of the next 2021 USMTS national champion when the series tackles two legendary dirt ovals with a combined $20,000 to win on the line.

On Friday, May 14, the Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kansas, hosts the 7th Annual USMTS Spring Sizzler presented by VP Racing Fuels, and then Saturday, May 15, the caravan heads about five hours south to the mighty Tri-State Speedway in Pocola, Oklahoma, for the 7th Annual USMTS Drive4JRT.com Juggernaut presented by Hacienda Mechanical.

Each event will pay $10,000 to the winner and licensed starters earn at least $700 for clawing their way into the main event.

Friday’s show at the Lakeside Speedway will see the pits open at 3 p.m., grandstands open at 5, hot laps at 7:10 and racing at 7:30.

Support classes include Medieval USRA Stock Cars and USRA B-Mods competing for Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series national points as well as E-Mods racing under track rules.

Since the debut of the USMTS at the Lakeside Speedway on July 13, 2012, there have been 20 events contested. Ryan Gustin won the first bout—his only win here—with 11 other drivers earning a checkered flag since then.

Terry Phillips and Rodney Sanders lead the way with four wins each while Jeremy Payne owns three wins. The only other multi-winner is defending Grant Junghans Memorial champion Ricky Thornton Jr.

Nic Bidinger, Matt Dotson, Jesse Sobbing, Aaron Marrant, Lucas Schott, Stormy Scott and Jake O'Neil have each tasted victory one time at the 4/10-mile speedplant.

The Lakeside Speedway is located 1.0 mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City). The track location is 5615 Wolcott Dr, Kansas City, KS 66109. Check them out online at LakesideSpeedway.net.

Saturday’s show at the Tri-State Speedway will see the pits open at 4 p.m., grandstands open at 5:30, hot laps at 7 and racing at 7:30.

Support classes include USRA B-Mods and Sunoco USRA Factory Stocks competing for Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series national points.

The Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s has tip-toed on the border of Arkansas and Oklahoma on seven previous occasions and Jason Hughes walked away with the hardware in three of those races.

His last win, however, came in 2011 at the end of a three-year string of victories here. Fellow Oklahoman Eddie Martin took the initial USMTS checkers at the 3/8-mile high-banked red clay oval on June 3, 2008.

The series didn’t return until 2018 and Zack VanderBeek was victorious on that night. Hunter Marriott captured top honors in 2019 and Rodney Sanders netted his first win at Tri-State Speedway last June during the height of the pandemic.

The Tri-State Speedway is located 1.6 miles west of the Arkansas-Oklahoma State line on US 271, then 0.3 mile north. The track location is 1705 W Race Track Rd, Pocola, OK 74902. Check them out online at Tri-StateSpeedway.com.

For those unable to attend in person, you can catch every lap of every race in every division both nights at RacinDirt.TV.

Taking dirt to a new level: The 2021 campaign for the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s features 36 nights of racing with the winners of those main events set to take home over $300,000 in earnings from more than $1 million in prize money earmarked for those shows. Twenty-six of the 36 race nights will pay at least $10,000 to win while the other 10 carry a $5,000 top prize.

As if that weren’t enough, more than $230,000 is committed to the top ten finishers in the 2021 points standings with a record $70,000 reserved for the 2021 USMTS National Champion.

Visit usmts.com for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USMTS news delivered to your inbox.