Fairbury, IL (June 1, 2017) - In sports, it's always been said by many that luck is when preparation meets opportunity. On Thursday night, Korey Weyant definitely lived up to the saying as he picked up a wild win at the Fairbury American Legion Speedway with the POWRi Lucas Oil WAR East Sprints.

Kevin Thomas Jr. moved from his sixth starting spot into the lead on the opening lap. Right behind him, the action was intense among a group of drivers including Dustin Smith, Mitch Wissmiller, Joe B. Miller, and Mario Clouser. Wissmiller assumed control of second on lap five as Thomas steadily increased his lead.

By lap ten, Thomas started hitting lapped traffic as he extended his lead to over a straightaway. Behind him, it was Wissmiller in second with Clouser moving into third.
The yellow would come out on lap seventeen for a wheel cover that fell off of a car entering turn one. As the drivers slowed down, Wissmiller was involved in an accident in between turns one and two that brought out the red flag and ended the Saybrook, IL driver's strong run.

When racing resumed, Clouser disposed of two lapped cars and set his sights on Thomas for the top spot. Clouser was able to keep up with Thomas as he stayed within striking distance. Twice, Clouser attempted slide jobs to have Thomas turn underneath and retake the top spot.

With twenty-one laps in the books, the yellow would come out for Andy Baugh, who spun in turn one. At the same time, Dustin Smith made contact with Terry Babb with Babb getting the worst end of the incident ending his run in the top five and bringing out the race's second red flag.

On the restart, Clouser stayed with Thomas and on the final lap, the Auburn, IL driver got a run down the backstretch to attempt one more slider for the win. The attempt was unsuccessful and Clouser got into Thomas knocking both drivers out of contention for the win. At the same time, Weyant, who had moved up to third, went underneath and was given the checkered flag in his Ealey Automotive/Tosti's Transmission/Weeble's Bar and Grill Eagle with Automotive Machine power under the hood.

Slater Helt, who missed hot laps with motor problems scored a career best second in his Helt's Turf Farms/Dent Remedy/5 Star Automotive Maxim with Claxton power. In his post race interview the rookie driver thanked Weyant and his father Scott for their help in working on his motor to allow him to compete. Joe B. Miller was third in his SEMO Services/Insights Wildlife Nutrition Speed Shack powered Maxim. Bret Tripplett was fourth in the Harold and Steve Goodman Trucking and Excavating/Conaway Handyman Service/Tim Crumpler Ams Oil Maxim with K&L Equipment power under the hood. Baugh rebounded back to fifth in his NuTech Seed/Zero Motorsports Gaerte-powered J&J. Logan Faucon was sixth as he was followed by Smith. Steve Thomas was the Indy Race Parts Hard Charger as he moved up to eighth from his eighteenth starting position. Thomas Jr. and Clouser completed the top ten.

The POWRi Lucas Oil WAR East Sprint cars will run their final portion of POWRi Speed Week at the Jacksonville Speedway in Jacksonville, IL on Friday, June 2.

POWRi Lucas Oil WAR East Sprint Car League
Jacksonville Speedway - 19 cars

Hinchman Racewear Heat 1 - 8 laps
1. 1-Mitch Wissmiller, Saybrook, IL (1); 2. 44-Kevin Thomas Jr, Cullman, AL (6); 3. 8D-Terry Babb, Decatur, IL (4); 4. 6B-Andy Baugh, Mason City, IL (3); 5. 31L-Buddy Lowther, Cincinnati, OH (2); 6. 11-Mark Brucker, Elliott, IL (7); 7. 20-Steve Thomas, Rantoul, IL (6)

Wilwood Disc Brakes Heat 2 - 8 laps
1. 77-Dustin Smith, Russiaville, IN (1); 2. 52F-Logan Faucon, Elkhart, IL (4); 3. 51B-Joe B. Miller, Millersville, MO (6); 4. 95-Tommy Rockwell, Towanda, IL (2); 5. 56-Mitchell Davis, Auburn, IL (5); 6. 2-Bill Shoemaker, Normal, IL (3)

Bell Helmets Heat 3 - 8 laps
1. 99-Korey Weyant, Springfield, IL (7); 2. 6-Mario Clouser, Auburn, IL (3); 3. 22-Bret Tripplett, Lincoln, IL (4); 4. 22S-Slater Helt, Harrisonville, MO (6); 5. 1T-Tyler Shoemaker, Clinton, IL (1); 6. 72-Al Thomas, Ludlow, IL (5)
POWRi Lucas Oil WAR East Sprint Car A-Main - 25 laps
1. 99-Korey Weyant (5); 2. 22S-Slater Helt (10); 3. 51B-Joe B. Miller (3); 4. 22-Bret Tripplett (9); 5. 6B-Andy Baugh (11); 6. 52F-Logan Faucon (4); 7. 77-Dustin Smith (1); 8. 20-Steve Thomas (18); 9. 44-Kevin Thomas Jr. (6); 10. 6-Mario Clouser (7); 11. 95-Tommy Rockwell (12); 12. 11-Mark Brucker (14);13. 1T-Tyler Shoemaker (16); 14. 56-Mitchell Davis (13); 15. 31L-Buddy Lowther (15); 16. 2-Bill Shoemaker (17); 17. 8D-Terry Babb (8)-DNF; 18. 1-Mitch Wissmiller (2); 19. 72-Al Thomas (DNS)

Article Credit: Chad Buford