News Events Points Mission
Rules Purses Sponsors Contact

Contact: Ben Shelton (
April 29th, 2011

Anthony Burroughs Scores First Win of 2011 in PRO Season Opener

Tuscumbia, Alabama (04/29/11) – After what has been the toughest start to a season in his career, Anthony Burroughs from Rogersville, Alabama found his way into victory lane for the first time as he battled past Rick Rickman late in the race to claim the $2,000 win at North Alabama Speedway (Tuscumbia, Alabama) in the season opener for the PRO Dirt Car Series.

After being the only driver in the 12 second bracket in qualifying, Rick Rickman earned the Southern Belle Pole Position for the 40 lap feature with Josh Putnam starting alongside him. After seeing the first three attempts to get the race underway nullified by cautions for various incidents, the race finally went green with Putnam, Rick Rickman, Anthony Burroughs, Kyle Beard, and Ronny Lee Hollingsworth in tow.

Putnam would pace the field for the first seven circuits until bad luck struck for the leader, when he jumped the cushion and spun out of turn two to bring out the caution. He would rejoin the field, but on the tail with Rick Rickman inheriting the lead.

As the race went back green, Rickman led the way with Burroughs and Beard in pursuit. One lap later Ronny Lee Hollingsworth would race past Beard for third and looked to be on his way to the front, until Ronny Lee jumped the cushion in turn two to bring out the caution. Hollingsworth would decide to call it a night.

The race would undergo a long green flag run, and it appeared that Rickman was on his way to the opening night win, but Anthony Burroughs had other ideas. As Rickman worked the cushion, Burroughs worked the low side and with six laps to go Burroughs would claim the lead exiting turn four. Burroughs would go on to motor away from the field as claimed the win over Rick Rickman, Brian Rickman, Kyle Beard, and Josh Putnam, who rebounded from his early race issues.

In an emotional victory lane interview, Burroughs commented, “It’s been an incredibly tough time for us this year, and then this past week has been so tough for so many people in this area with the devastation from the tornadoes. This win is dedicated to everyone, who has experienced losses this week.”

Ronny Lee Hollingsworth won the First Qualifier, while Daniel Miller won the Second Qualifier.

Jason Milam received the GRT Race Cars Hard Luck Award after making hard contact with the front stretch wall in the feature.

The PRO Dirt Car Series will be back in action on Saturday night, April 30th at North Alabama Speedway (Tuscumbia, Alabama) with Round #2 of the 2011 tour. The driver’s meeting is scheduled for 6:45pm and racing action is slated to get underway at 7:30pm. For more information, please visit and .

PRO Dirt Car Series Super Late Models
North Alabama Speedway (Tuscumbia, AL)
April 29th, 2011

Feature Results
1. Anthony Burroughs (Rogersville, Alabama)
2. Rick Rickman (Columbus, Mississippi)
3. Brian Rickman (Columbus, Mississippi)
4. Kyle Beard (Trumann, Arkansas)
5. Josh Putnam (Killen, Alabama)
6. Daniel Miller (Shelbyville, Tennessee)
7. Eric Cooley (Fulton, Mississippi)
8. Dean Carpenter (Coldwater, Mississippi)
9. Tony Shelton (Columbus, Mississippi)
10. Jay Burchfield (Columbus, Mississippi)
11. Jerry Owens (Killen, Alabama)
12. Mark Dodson (Caledonia, Mississippi)
13. Jason Milam (Guntown, Mississippi)
14. Mike Fields (Alabama)
15. Johnny Stokes (Columbus, Mississippi)
16. Ray Mauldin (Fulton, Mississippi)
17. Ronny Lee Hollingsworth (Northport, Alabama)
18. Chase Washington (Houlke, Mississippi) DNS

Entries: 18 Representing Three States (AL, MS, AR)
Cautions: 7
Red Flags: 0
Leaders: Josh Putnam (1-7), Rick Rickman (8-33), Anthony Burroughs (34-40)
Southern Belle Pole Qualifier: Rick Rickman
MRC Racing Collectibles Smooth Move Award: Anthony Burroughs Qualifier #1 Winner: Ronny Lee Hollingsworth Qualifier #2 Winner: Daniel Miller
GRT Race Cars Hard Luck Award: Jason Milam
American Race Tires Hard Charger: Dean Carpenter (18th to 8th)
Hoosier Race Tires Top Performer Award: Anthony Burroughs
DBR Starters 12th Place Award: Mark Dodson
ADP Rivets Clean Pass Award: Josh Putnam